Faribault Public Schools Superintendent Todd Sesker and FHS Principal Jaime Bente are guests on AM Minnesota 9:30 this morning.  They will discuss the upcoming levy requests the district is making to voters on November 5, 2019.

You can vote absentee and avoid any lines at the polls.  In July the Faribault Public School Board voted unanimously to authorize a special election for members of the school district to vote on two ballot questions for an operating levy.

The operating levy questions ask for permission to increase the district's local revenue authority to provide more money so the district can:

  • Implement a 7 period schedule at Faribault High School
  • Provide transportation and support services to more students in the district

The current voter-approved authority is $827 per pupil unit.  If question 1 is approved, the voter-approved authority will be $1,048 per pupil unit for taxes payable in 2020.  If both questions are approved the voter-approved authority will be $1,163 per pupil for taxes payable in 2020.

Superintendent Sesker has repeatedly stated on KDHL that Faribault High School is the only high school out of 12 in the Big 9 Conference still operating on a six period schedule.

Both questions do state the proposed revenue authorization would increase each year by the rate of inflation for 10 years.

Question 1 asks for an increase in general education revenue of $221 per pupil.

Question 2 asks for an increase in general education revenue of $115 per pupil.

Question 1 deals with the 7 period day implementation.

Question 2 dollars would provide transportation for students who live more than a mile from school.  Currently the radius for bus service from a school is 2 miles.

You can vote absentee now until November 1st at the District Office, 710 17th St. SW in Faribault during the hours of 7:30 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. Monday through Friday.

The polls on election day Tuesday, November 5th will be open from 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. with polling locations at the Dean Curtis 4-H Building on the Rice County Fairgrounds, Washington Center, 117 Shumway Avenue, Buckham Community Center 15 Division Street West and Our Savior's Lutheran Church, 1207 Prairie Avenue.

You can go to the poll finder on the Secretary of State website here:  www.pollfinder.sos.state.mn.us to see where you vote.

More From KDHL Radio