Representatives of the Faribault Alumni Association are scheduled to stop by KDHL for AM Minnesota at 9:30 this morning to give us details about their new Distinguished Alumni Awards.

For years there has been a Faribault Sports Hall of Fame where Faribault High School and Bethlehem Academy High School coaches, athletes and supporters have been honored for their accomplishments and contributions in sports.

"The Faribault Falcon High Flyer Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes FHS graduates who have made distinctive contributions to benefit others through humanitarian activities or extraordinary personal and professional accomplishments following high school." That's what a news release from the Faribault Alumni Association states in describing the award.

The 2017 inductees read as a who's who of Faribault High School graduates, and a number of this year's honorees have made their contributions in their hometown.

  • Richard Carlander with the State Bank of Faribault has always been a believer of supporting community causes with his time and financial assistance.
  • Erica Staab-Absher is the executive director of the Hope Center in Faribault, which is hoping to end domestic violence.
  • Elizabeth "Betty" Wahl Strohfus was a WASP during World War II and championed their recognition across the country speaking before many high schools and colleges and was instrumental in getting a national monument honoring their contributions in our nation's capitol.

Other inductees include Tracy Bahl. Dr. Gary Tollefson, Mary Ann Budenske, Richard Haugland, Janel Klein, Dr. Vui Mai and Harold Passer.

A reception for the award winners is scheduled for Saturday, April 22, at the Faribault American Legion.

We will get more details on AM Minnesota at 9:30AM.

If you can't tune in then go to KDHL's YouTube channel and watch the program.

photo by Gordy Kosfeld
photo by Gordy Kosfeld

More From KDHL Radio