The #9 ranked Class AAA Minnesota wrestling team by Guillotine lost to Hastings (#5) 52-14 and top ranked St. Michael-Albertville 52-21.  Both matches were in the opponent's home gym.

A year ago Faribault defeated the Raiders during the regular season and were on a roll until the final meet of the year at home against Owatonna.  The Falcons then ended their season in the first round of sections.

Faribault Co-Head Coach Jesse Armbruster told KDHL during the Coaches Show at Bashers when the season began that they intentionally beefed up their schedule this year in hopes of reversing what happened a season ago.

There is a new format this year in Section 1AAA.  The first round and semi-finals are being held at high seeds with only the title match taking place Saturday at the Rochester Mayo Civic Center Arena.

Northfield (23-2) is top seed and wrestles Winona (0-11) Thursday night in Northfield.  The other match has #4 seed Owatonna (11-12) going up against #5 Austin (8-17-1)

The winners are in semifinals at Northfield.

The #3 seed Faribault Falcons (15-11) are in #2 seed Rochester Mayo's gym and wrestle Rochester Century (5-19) while Mayo (18-7) faces John Marshall (no record listed) at 6:00 p.m.

That's right a #3 seed does not get to wrestle at home.

The winners wrestle for a berth into the Championship match at 2:00 p.m. Saturday in Rochester.

Faribault has two ranked wrestlers this season.  #5 at 120 is sophomore JT Hausen.  #8 at 126 is freshman Bo Bokman.

Rochester Mayo has ranked wrestlers at 138 and 182.  Northfield also has two rated wrestlers.  Owatonna has three.

In Section 1AA top seed Kasson-Mantorville (23-1) hosts #8 Plainview-Elgin-Millville (15-12) and #9 Stewartville (6-12).  Winner of that match wrestles the KoMets with victor advancing to semifinals Noon Saturday at Rochester Mayo Civic Center.

#4 Lake City (17-7) will wrestle winner of #5 Lewiston-Altura/Rushford-Peterson (14-11) against #12 LaCrescent (2-11).  The team that comes out on top will go to semifinals.

On the other side of the bracket #2 Zumbrota-Mazeppa (15-3) hosts #7 Cannon Falls (18-12) and #10 Waseca (4-14).  The Cougars will go up against winner of the Bombers and Blue Jays match with the winning team advancing to semis in Rochester.

#3 seed Albert Lea (23-6) hosts #6 Byron (9-12) and #11 Pine Island (2-14) .  Bears and Panthers wrestle to determine who goes up against Tigers with that winner advancing to final four in Rochester.

Section 1A #1 seed Chatfield (13-1) hosts #8 Fillmore Central/Lanesboro/Mabel-Canton (10-10).  The winner goes to semis in Rochester at Noon against the team that comes out on top between #4 Kenyon-Wanamingo (22-8) and Caledonia/Houston (16-7).

The Knights host in Kenyon at 6:00 p.m. Thursday.

#2 Goodhue (24-4) wrestles winner of #10 Wabasha-Kellogg (0-15) and St. Charles (10-11).

#3 Dover-Eyota (16-8) faces #6 Grand Meadow/Leroy-Ostrander/Southland (12-12) on Thursday night with the victor going to Rochester Saturday.

The Section title match will be 2:00 p.m. at the Mayo Civic Center Arena.

Did you know most of this information?

CHECK IT OUT: 13 Life-Changing Products Invented in Minnesota


More From KDHL Radio