The Owatonna High School Athletic Hall of Fame will grow by five members on Friday, September 13. The annual induction will include a reception in the commons area and a presentation in the small group forum. The newest members will also be introduced at the football game that night.

Four athletes and a former coach join the ranks this year. Tom Haigh from the class of 1958 will join his brother Jim in the hall. Tom Haigh earned eight varsity letters between football, basketball and track. He played basketball at UMD and taught and coached in Great Falls, MT. Haigh passed away in 1998.

Haigh was the captain for the football and track teams during his senior year. He was part of a district title in basketball and was named the Jostens' Junior Athlete of the Year in 1957. Haigh was in National Honor Society and National Athletic Scholarship Society.

While playing for the Bulldogs in Duluth for four seasons, his teams won three conference championships. Haigh taught for 33 years in Montana and coached for 25 years.

The other inductees this year include former coach and teacher Jeanne Stursa and athletes Nicki (Miller) Martineau, Derek Johnson, and Amy (Kubat) Lageson. The reception at the high school Friday is open to the public and begins at 3 pm.

The hall of fame committee announced that a new category will be added in 2020 with the introduction of a Team Distinction honor. Currently, the hall of fame which was established in 1996 recognizes outstanding athletes, coaches and community members. With the newest five individuals, the hall will have 125 members.


More From KDHL Radio