The 2023 Prep Bowl had thrillers and dominating performances at US Bank Stadium over Thanksgiving weekend with seven state football champions receiving their trophies.

A summary of the title tilts is here.  Four games were played Friday and three games on Saturday.

I will list the title contests in order of class.

9-Player Champion is Nevis following a 14-12 win over Kingsland (Spring Valley/Wykoff) despite the Knights dominating the Tigers statistically.

Kingsland finished the game with 348 yards of offense compared to 97 yards.

The Knights had 18 first downs and held Nevis to 3 first downs.

Kingsland ended the game with 231 yards rushing, 117 passing.  Nevis had 50 yards rushing, 47 yards passing with 66 total plays for the Knights and 34 for the Tigers.

The difference in the game was two extra point kicks for Nevis.  Kingsland failed on both of their two point conversion attempts.  One rushing, one passing.

Time of possession was 30:23 to 17:37 in favor of Kingsland.

It is the first football title for Nevis.  Kingsland was Class B Champion in 1995, AA Champion in 2002 and placed second in AA in 2003.

Class A Champion is Minneota with a 43-22 win over Springfield.  Vikings repeat for their 9th title.  They like to win them in bunches with back to back to back titles in 1986, 1987, 1988, 2014, 2015.  Now 2022 and 2023 with other titles in 2009 and 2017.  Second place finishes were earned in 1993 and 2021.

Minneota defeated Springfield last year in the title game 28-21.

The Vikings dashed to a 29-6 lead at the half and never looked back

The Vikings rushed for 290 yards, threw for 72 while compiling 362 yards of total offense on 52 plays.

The Tigers had 63 yards on the ground.  214 yards through the air for 277 total yards during 76 plays.

Springfield had 5 turnovers and Minneota capitalized to the total of 22 points off those turnovers.

Class AA title holder is Eden Valley-Watkins with a 24-6 win over defending Champion Barnesville.  The Eagles led 6-0 at the half in a game that was very even statistically.

The Trojans had more rushing yards while the Eagles had more passing yardage in the game.  Barnesville finished with 177 yards on the ground, 68 yards through the air.

Eden Valley-Watkins had 167 yards rushing and 111 passing.

EVW finished with 278 total yards on 47 plays and Barnesville tallied 245 yards on 56 plays.

Turnovers were key with Barnesville throwing 4 interceptions and fumbling once and the Eagles threw one interception in the game.

Eden Valley-Watkins speed was again a difference maker with touchdowns of 36, 55 and 22 yards to go along with a 7 yard score.

It is the second title for Eden Valley-Watkins.  They defeated Caledonia in 2005 and lost to Caledonia in the title game in 2016.

Class AAA Champion is Stewartville ending a perfect season 43-13 over Annandale.

The Tigers win their first title,  In 1977 they finished second in Class B and were second in Class A in 1986.

Stewartville finished the game with 26 first downs to Annandale's 11.

The Tigers scored 22 points off 3 Cardinals turnovers.

Total yardage was 471 on 65 plays for Stewartville, 190 on 45 plays for Annandale.

Tigers ran for 265 yards and threw for 206 while Cardinals had 76 on the ground and 114 through the air.

Class AAAA Hutchinson wins their 7th championship 14-6 over Rocori after losing to Simley 34-24 in the title game last year.

The Tigers downed Kasson-Mantorville 42-14 in the title tilt in 2021.  Captured back to back titles in 2012 and 2013.  Placed second in 2003 with championships in 1983 and 1984 and a title in 1998 after defeating Owatonna 21-20.

Hutchinson scored 8 points off 3 Spartans turnovers while owning the football.

Time of possession was 34:06 to 13:54.  The Tigers had 19 first downs and Rocori finished with 9.

Hutchinson ran 73 plays for 245 yards while Rocori ran 31 plays for 181 yards.

AAAAA Champion Chanhassen wins overtime thriller 34-31 over St. Thomas Academy in the final high school football game of the 2023 Minnesota high school football season.

The Storm win their first title while achieving an unblemished record.  It is the 6th second place finish for the Cadets who won Class A title in 1975 over St. Peter.

Chanhassen led 14-7 at the half.  Regulation ended with a 28-28 score.

In overtime St. Thomas Academy kicked a 26 yard field goal while Chanhassen scored a touchdown on a 2 yard pass for the win.

The Cadets ended the game with 28 first downs, Storm had 14.  There were no turnovers in the contest.

Time of possession was 30:47 to 17:13 in favor of St. Thomas Academy.

Tremendous balance by the Cadets with 247 yards on the ground and 239 through the air.

Chanhassen finished with 303 rushing yards and 57 passing.  St. Thomas Academy ran 77 plays to Chanhassen's 44.

Class 6A Centennial wins 28-27 when Edina goes for two point conversion at end of the game and does not succeed.  It is Centennial's first title.

The Cougars led 21-7 at the half.  The Hornets scored twice in the final 3:47 to put themselves in a position to win or tie and missed a pass for two points with 16 seconds left in the game.

Edina's kicker was 3 for 3 on extra points in the game.

Centennial scored 7 points off 2 Edina turnovers.

The Cougars ran 74 plays for 351 total yards while the Hornets had 57 plays for 346 total yards.

Centennial ran for 281 and threw for 70.  Edina threw for 244 and ran for 102.

Edina West was Class AA State Champion in 1978.

There were 5 classes of football from 1972 until 1996.  Six classes from 1997 until 2011.  Seven classes since 2012.

The first year of Minnesota high school football playoffs in 1972 there were no close title games.

AA: Minneapolis Washburn defeated Moorhead 26-6
A:  Burnsville over Sauk Centre 46-19

B:  Mountain Iron cruised by Dassel-Cokato 54-6

C:  Gaylord clubbed Preston 26-6

9-Man: Rothsay dominated Cotton 64-12

25+ Amazing Local Small Businesses in Southeast Minnesota

This is nowhere near all of the amazing small businesses in our area, just a handful! Make sure to support local.

Gallery Credit: Carly Ross



More From KDHL Radio