The Lakeville North Panthers are now the top ranked high school football team in the largest schools class.  The latest Associated Press Minnesota High School Rankings are out and a number of familiar teams sit atop the rankings.

In Class 6A Prior Lake is #5, Eastview #6 and Farmington #10.

The Owatonna Huskies continue in the #1 position in Class 5A.  The two time defending state champions have St. Thomas Academy in the #2 spot with Elk River #3.  Mankato West is #10, Rochester Mayo and Rochester Century received votes but did not crack the top ten.

Defending State Champions SMB-Wolfpack are the top Class 4A team followed by Hutchinson and a tie in the #3 spot between Winona and Benilde-St. Margaret's.

In Class 3A Pierz is #1, Waseca #2, Stewartville #7.  Cannon Falls and Rochester Lourdes received votes.

Caledonia is still #1 in Class 2A with Barnesville #2.  Chatfield is #7, St. Charles received votes.

Class 1A BOLD another defending state champion is on top with Mahnomen-Waubun #2, Blooming Prairie #3.  United South Central is tied in the #4 spot with Minneota. Goodhue received votes.

9-Man #1 is Grand Meadow, Mountain Lake is #2, Leroy-Ostrander #8, Spring Grove #9, Southland #10.

The complete rankings are listed below:

Class 1A

2. Mahnomen-Waubun
3. Blooming Prairie
4. Minneota  tie
4. United South Central
6. Mayer Lutheran
7. Springfield
8. Polk County West
9. Upsala-Swanville
10. Wabasso
Others Receiving Votes:  Gibbon-Fairfax-Winthrop, Goodhue, Underwood, Murray County Central, Ada-Borup West, Canby

Class 2A

1. Caledonia
2. Barnesville
3. Redwood Valley
4. Minneapolis North
5. Pipestone
6. Moose Lake-Willow River
7. Chatfield
8. Paynesville
9. West Central Area
10.Eden Valley-Watkins
Others Receiving Votes:  Lewiston-Altura, Pillager, Blue Earth Area, Maple Lake, Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City, St. Charles

Class 3A

1. Pierz
2. Waseca
3. Jackson County Central
4. Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton
5. Dassel-Cokato
6. Albany
7. Stewartville
8. Aitkin
9. Annandale     tie
9. Perham
Others Receiving Votes:  Cannon Falls, Rochester Lourdes, Breck, Minnewaska Area

Class 4A

1. SMB-Wolfpack
2. Hutchinson
3. Winona     tie
3. Benilde-St. Margaret's
5. Delano
6. Holy Angels Academy
7. Detroit Lakes
8. Fridley
9. Becker
Others Receiving Votes:  St. Anthony Village, Jordan, Cold Spring Rocori, Simley, Mound-Westonka, Hermantown

Class 5A

1. Owatonna
2. St. Thomas Academy
3. Elk River
4. Alexandria
5. Chaska
6. Bemidji
7. Robbinsdale Armstrong
8. Tartan
9. Hastings
10. Mankato West
Others Receiving Votes:  Rochester Mayo, Spring Lake Park, Rochester Century

Class 6A

1. Lakeville North
2. Eden Prairie
3. St. Michael-Albertville
4. Wayzata
5. Prior Lake
6. Eastview
7. Cretin-Derham Hall
8. Champlin Park
9. Mounds View
10. Farmington
Others Receiving Votes:  Edina


1. Grand Meadow
2. Mountain Lake
3. Cromwell
4. Mountain Iron-Buhl
5. Verndale
6. Stephen-Argyle
7. Hills-Beaver Creek
8. Leroy-Ostrander
9. Spring Grove
10. Southland
Others Receiving Votes:  Edgerton, Win-E-Mac, Nicollet, Warren-Alvarado-Oslo, Fertile-Beltrami, Kittson County Central, McGregor, Sleepy Eye St. Mary's


More From KDHL Radio