The Moorhead Spuds had 13 medalists and the Lakeville North Panthers 10 in a highly competitive Class AA Minnesota State Speech Tournament.  The event was held at Apple Valley High School Friday.  Four of the top five teams in the state were in the South Suburban Conference.  Moorhead finished with 57 points, Lakeville North 53 points, Eastview of Apple Valley 43, Eagan 40 and Apple Valley 34.

Lakeville North medalists included:

  • Sam Sweere -State Champion Humorous Interpretation
  • Tage Singh - 2nd Creative Expression
  • Grace Hjort/Vanessa Nguyen- 2nd in Duo Interpretation
  • Joshua Weinsten- 2nd in Serious Interpretation-Drama
  • Zachary Peick- 3rd in Serious Interpretation-Drama
  • Teagan Klinkner- 4th in Discussion
  • Noah Gallagher- 7th in Extemporaneous Speaking
  • Andrea Schiefelbein- 6th in Informative Speaking
  • Lauren Davis- 5th in Original Oratory
  • Connor Glinski- 5th in Storytelling

There are 13 speech categories.  There were some Big Nine medalists.

  • Rebecca Frei- Rochester John Marshall  7th in Creative Expression
  • Sam Roach- Mankato West State Champion in Extemporaneous Speaking
  • Ola Adebayo- Rochester John Marshall 5th in Serious Interpretation- Poetry

The South Suburban Conference had 37 of the 104 medalists.

Eastview of Apple Valley:

  • Campbell Berstein- State Champion in Creative Expression
  • Joelle Gehrke- 3rd Place in Creative Expression
  • Jesse Luevano- 8th Place in Discussion
  • Jake Lieder/Joey Mayer- 8th place Duo Interpretation
  • Olivia Beach- 2nd in Extemporaneous Reading
  • Ross Abram- 2nd in Extemporaneous Speaking
  • Chloe Carson- 3rd in Humorous Interpretation
  • Mackenzie Donais- 8th in Serious Interpretation-Drama
  • Ella Erdahl- 3rd in Storytelling

Apple Valley:

  • Trinity Ek- State Champion in Informative Speaking
  • Halima Badri- State Champion in Original Oratory
  • Reese Johnson- 8th in Original Oratory
  • Liza Rotty/Zach Frye- 3rd Duo Interpretation
  • Maria Michaelson- 4th Great Speeches
  • Frank Knier- 8th Humorous Interpretation
  • Elizabeth Hoiland- 6th in Serious Interpretation- Poetry
  • Anna Johnson Taylor- 7th in Serious Interpretation- Poetry


  • Aaron Lutz- State Champion in Extemporaneous Speaking
  • Mary Vander Hoeven- 6th in Creative Expression
  • Emma Zellmer- 6th in Discussion
  • Joshua Drucker/Jack Flynn- 5th in Duo Interpretation
  • Isabelle Hopewell- 3rd in Extemporaneous Reading
  • Claire Nelson- 4th in Humorous Interpretation
  • Julia Sexton- 4th in Informative Speaking
  • Elsie Goren- 5th in Informative Speaking
  • Divya Mouli- 7th in Original Oratory

Rosemount's Chancellor Farmer was 4th in Extemporaneous Reading.

Minnesota Class AA Speech Medalists. Photo by John Millea MSHSL
Minnesota Class AA Speech Medalists. Photo by John Millea MSHSL


More From KDHL Radio