Kenyon Mayor Doug Henke has filed for election to the Mayor's seat.  Henke's opponent will be Jack Metcalf.  Filings closed Tuesday for a number of school board and other local offices across Minnesota including Mayor and City Council in Kenyon.

Henke was appointed Mayor following the death of Mike Engel on July 4, 2019. The Kenyon City Council will have a new look with two incumbents deciding not to file the necessary paperwork to run for re-election to their seats.

John Mortenson and Richard Nielsen are not running to retain their seats.  Current Council Member Thomas Gard is running for the Special Election for Council.  Running for the two vacated seats will be Ryan Weingart, Kelly Metcalf, Molly Ryan and Mary Bailey.

Just one current member of the Kenyon City Council is not up for election this November.  Former Goodhue County Commissioner Dan Rechtzigel's term is scheduled to end in 2022.

There will be at least one new face on the Kenyon-Wanamingo School Board.  Incumbent Rod Woock chose not to file for re-election. Incumbents James Jarvis and Jamie Somer both of Wanamingo do want to continue serving.

Five individuals are competing for the three seats available.  They include Linda Bean of Kenyon, Sherry Eichler of Kenyon, Michelle Wood of Dennison, A.J. Lindell of Kenyon and Ben Bakken of Wanamingo.

Incumbent Wanamingo Mayor Ryan Holmes is running unopposed with two people up for the two seats on the City Council.  They are also incumbents.  Jeremiah Flotterud and Stuart Ohr.

Morristown Mayor Tony Lindahl is running with nobody else on the November ballot.  Incumbent City Council Member Jake Golombeski is running to keep his seat with two others also vying for the two seats up for election.  Linda Murphy and Melanie Hopman.

There is also a special election for a council member.  Filing for that post are Ralph Barney, Robin Lee Leavens and Jacob Duncan.


CHECK IT OUT: 13 Life-Changing Products Invented in Minnesota


More From KDHL Radio