The Kasson-Mantorville Komets showed why they are the top-ranked Class AA team in Minnesota on Saturday by picking up seven Section titles and three second-place finishes.

There are 14 weight classes, so having 10 qualify for the state tournament is an amazing accomplishment.

Komet section champions are :

  • 113: Jared Johnson, junior
  • 120: Robby Horsman, sophomore
  • 138: Keaton Schorr, senior
  • 160: Brady Berge, senior
  • 170: Patrick Kennedy, freshman
  • 220: Noah Ryan, senior
  • 285: Brett Paulson, junior

Komets finishing second and also heading to the state tournament are:

  • 145: Isaac Haman, senior
  • 182: Garson Schorr, sophomore
  • 195: Jim Paulson, junior

Cannon Falls junior Hayden Strain was second at 170 pounds and gets to head to the X and try to bring home some hardware. Byron has three qualifiers. Albert Lea Area had six qualifiers.

Below is a complete listing of the wrestlers from Section 1 AA going to the X:

  • 106 champion: Matthew Peterson, Byron, senior; second place: Albert Lea, sophomore
  • 113 champion: Jared Johnson, Kasson-Mantorville, junior; second place: Mitchel Peterson, Byron, freshman
  • 120 champion: Robby Horsman, Kasson-Mantorville, sophomore; second place: Jake Johnson, Albert Lea, junior
  • 126 champion: Gavin Ignaszewski, Albert Lea, junior; second place: Brody Olson, Stewartville, sophomore
  • 132 champion: Reed Defrang, Plainview-Elgin-Millville, senior; second place: Jack Vaselaar, Winona, junior
  • 138 champion: Keaton Schorr, Kasson-Mantorville, senior; second place: Brody Nielson, Albert Lea, junior
  • 145 champion: Garrett Aldrich, Albert Lea, senior; second place: Isaac Haman, Kasson-Mantorville, senior
  • 152 champion: Zach Glazier, Albert Lea, sophomore; second place: McCoy Tekautz, LARP, senior
  • 160 champion: Brady Berge, Kasson-Mantorville, senior; second place: Dustin Dittrich, Plainview-Elgin-Millville, sophomore
  • 170 champion: Patrick Kennedy, Kasson-Mantorville, freshman; second place: Hayden Strain, Cannon Falls, junior
  • 182 champion: Frank Wingert, Plainview-Elgin-Millville, sophomore; second place: Garson Schorr, Kasson-Mantorville, sophomore
  • 195 champion: Travis Capelle, Stewartville, senior; second place: Jim Paulson, Kasson-Mantorville, junior
  • 220 champion: Noah Ryan, Kasson-Mantorville, senior; second place: Jacob Clark, Plainview-Elgin-Millville, senior
  • 285 champion: Brett Paulson, Kasson-Mantorville, junior; second place: Cal Prigge, Byron, senior
Gordy Kosfeld / Townsquare Media



More From KDHL Radio