#3 seed Faribault traveled to #2 Northfield Thursday night, February 16, 2023 and recorded 6 falls during a 55-16 win.

The Raiders defeated the Falcons earlier in the season 39-34.  Rochester Mayo was the only other team to down Faribault during the Big Nine regular season 32-25.

The Spartans and Falcons will wrestle for a berth into the team MSHSL State Wrestling Tournament when they go toe to toe at Mayo Civic Center in Rochester 2:00 p.m. Saturday, February 18, 2023.

Paul Shea will be keep you updated on the match on POWER 96 Radio, 95.9 FM and the FREE POWER 96 app which is available to listen to worldwide.

The Kenyon-Wanamingo Semifinals match with Chatfield will be on POWER 96 beginning about 11:45 a.m. with Paul Shea on the call.

If the Knights prevail they will wrestle for the Section 1A title at 2:00 p.m. also.  Shea will keep both audiences updated if they are both in the finals.

Northfield opened their semifinals match with Faribault with a major decision at 106 pounds by Caley Graber.  At 113 pounds Lucas Nelson evened the score with a major over Charlie Johnson.

Northfield forfeiting at 120 pounds givin the Falcons 6 points on the team score.

At 126 JT Hausen pinned Keith Harner in 2:53.  132 Raiders Sam  Harner had a tough 6-4 win over Ricky Cordova.

The Falcons then took control by winning the next five matches, 4 by fall.

At 138 Isaac Yetzer pinned Andrew Williams in 55 seconds.

145 Hunter Conrad recorded a fall in 1:27 over Austin Benjamin.

152 Bo Bokman stuck Iah Schweich in 1:19.

160 Elliot Viland doubled up Jack Pribyl 8-4.

170 Cooper Leichtnam recorded a fall in 4:58.

182 Northfield's Owen Murphy defeated George Soto 2-1.

195 Ryan Kuyper of Northfield pinned Marcos Ramirez with 9 seconds left in their match.

The Raiders forfeited 220 before Giovanni Pino of Faribault registered a fall in 49 seconds over Noah Ackerman.

Owatonna travelled to Rochester Mayo to wrestle Rochester Century before tangling with the Spartans.

The Panthers forfeited 4 weights gifting the Huskies with 24 points in the 56-21 Owatonna win.

Mayo then got by Owatonna 36-27 with each team scoring 7 victories.  The difference came by the Spartans securing four falls while the Huskies had one.

106 Andrew Trimble of Mayo pinned Kaden Lindquist in 45 seconds.

113 Juan Cobarruvais of Mayo defeated Donovan Sorenson 9-4.

120 Adam Buenger of Mayo achieved a Tech Fall over Jayden Jirele

126 Lane Karsten of Owatonna got a 9-1 major decision over Max Erickson

132 Trey Hiatt of  Owatonna scored 10-0 major decision over Kellen Burger

138 Michael Reinardy of Owatonna recorded a 16-6 major decision over Kai Kobayashi

145 Carter Sheehan of Mayo pinned Parker Casas in 1:43

152 Jack Sorenson of Owatonna defeated Kamden Ernste 4-0

160 RJ Reinardy of Owatonna edged Cater Funk 1-0

170 Cael Robb of Owatonna got the :38 fall over James Nelson

182  Logan Burger of Mayo recorded a 3:43 fall over Logan Risser

195 Dylan Peper of Mayo achieved a 8-0 major decision over Max Flemke

220 Blake Fitcher of Owatonna edged Lucas Peterson 8-6

285 Ethan Peper of Mayo pinned Grant Lower in 48 seconds.

Kenyon-Wanamingo got 8 pins in their 56-15 win over Grand Meadow/Leroy-Ostrander/Southland in the Castle in Kenyon Thursday night.

Bryan Jacobson set the tone with a 3:24 fall over Parker Armagost at 106 pounds.

113 Cael Smith of GMLOS got a 10-6 decision over Ryan Lacanne

120 Reed Sommer of K-W recorded a fall in 1:53 over Aiden Quintana

126 Masyn Hanson of K-W edged Teague Alden 8-5

132 Tate Miller of K-W got the fall at 2:48 over Timmy Hogfeldt

138 Cohen Wiste of GMLOS 5-0 decision over Gavin Johnson

145 Braxten Wiste of GMLOS pinned Trent Foss in 1:33

152 Dillon Bartel of K-W stuck Dalton Pischke in 1:07

160 Kiefer Olson of K-W pinned Drake Payne in 1:00

170 Jaedin Johnson of K-W recorded a :31 fall over Zac Gehling

182 Owen Craig K-W picked up a Tech Fall over Wyatt Krull

195 Aidan Lindell of K-W got the fall in 2:57 over Rowan Sween

220 Will Van Epps of K-W pinned John Swanek in 2:00

285 Colten Gardner of GMLOS eked by Charles Koncur 3-2

#2 seed Chatfield defeated Fillmore Central/Lanesboro/Mabel-Canton 51-24 to set up their Semifinals match with the K-W Knights.  They have not wrestled this year.

On the other side of the bracket top seed Caledonia/Houston dispatched Triton 64-12 and #4 seed Dover-Eyota downed #5 seed Goodhue 49-19.  Caledonia and Dover-Eyota will wrestle their semifinals match at the same time K-W goes up against Chatfield.

Section 1AA Semifinals will be top seed Kasson-Mantorville facing Cannon Falls and #2 seed Zumbrota-Mazeppa going up against #3 seed and Big Nine Conference Champion Albert Lea Area at Noon.

The Section 1AA title match is also scheduled for 2:00 p.m. in Rochester.

Section 2A Wrestling Tournament in St. Clair has top seed Medford wrestling Waterville-Elysian-Morristown/Janesville-Waldorf-Pemberton and #2 seed Lake Crystal-Wellcome Memorial facing #6 seed New Richland-Hartland-Ellendale-Geneva in the Semifinals at 2:00 p.m.

The Section 2A title match will be 3:45 p.m. at St. Clair High School.

Section Champions punch their tickets to the MSHSL State Team Wrestling Tournament held in conjunction with Individual action at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul.

More From KDHL Radio