The Minnesota Primary Election is Tuesday, August 9, 2022 with people casting ballots in a number of statewide races.

In Rice County there are two county offices with finalists to be determined in the non-partisan election.  A Northfield City Council seat will also be on the ballot to pare the candidates down to two for the General Election.

District 3 includes Faribault Precinct 2 and Faribault Precinct 3.  Incumbent David J. Miller is on the ballot along with challengers Gerald G. Hoisington, Steven Hauer and Sam Temple.

The top two vote recipients will move on to the November General Election to determine the District 3 County Commissioner.

Three people are running for Rice County Sheriff.  Former Sheriff Troy Dunn stepped down last November to move to Arizona for his wife's job and had planned to end his career in law enforcement after his term expired this year anyway.

Dunn's Chief Deputy Jesse Thomas was appointed the Sheriff and is running for the office along with Ross Spicer and Richard Bailey.

The top two will move to the General Election also.

Here is a copy of the Primary Election Ballot Rice County residents will see.

The passing of Congressman Jim Hagedorn last February caused an interesting situation.  The office was left vacant for the past six months because by law the Governor can't appoint someone if the death is outside a certain number of days from the next election.

Due to re-districting (which happens every 10 years) the U.S. Representative District 1 seat has some changes to it meaning in the Tuesday Primary residents of the current district 1 will vote for someone to take the office until January.

In November the new District 1 residents (some new, some not) will vote for someone to begin serving the district in January.

The top vote recipient among the D-F-L and Republican Party candidates along with candidates from the Grassroots-Legalize Cannabis Party (Haroun McClellan) and Legal Marijuana Now Party (Richard B. Reisdorf) will serve the remainder of Hagedorn's term and the primary will determine who will be the Republican Party candidate in November.

Former Hormel CEO Jeff Ettinger is the D-F-L candidate.  Jeremy Munson and Brad Finstad are running for the G-O-P finalist.

In Northfield there are three people running for the Council at large seat so the top two vote recipients will square off in the General Election.  On the ballot are Davin Soukup, Thelma A. Estrada and David DeLong.

Polls are open 7:00 a.m. until 8:00 p.m. with results given on our website and periodic reports on KDHL beginning after the polls close.

Here is a map of the Rice County Polling Places.

Interesting reading about Minnesota specific inventions.

CHECK IT OUT: 13 Life-Changing Products Invented in Minnesota


More From KDHL Radio