Faribault Bethlehem Academy libero Mia Potter was named Gopher Conference Player of the Year for the recently completed volleyball season.  The Cardinals finished their season last weekend with a third place finish at the MSHSL State Tournament in St. Paul.

BA was undefeated in the Gopher Conference this season capturing their 22nd Gopher Conference championship.  They participated in their 14th State Tournament finishing with a 22-12 overall record.

The Cardinals were ranked #9 in the final Minnesota Volleyball Coaches Association Class A poll.

Senior Ellie Cohen was named All-State. Cohen is going to play volleyball at South Dakota State University. Junior Kate Trump was selected to the Class A State All-Tournament Team.

There were six seniors on the Cardinals team.  In addition to Potter and Cohen were Madelyn Bauer, Emily Casper, Jennifer Robert and Katie Seidel.

In the third place match at state, Potter went over the career 1,000 digs mark after collecting over 800 digs in her senior season.  Remember 2020 was a shortened season due to the pandemic with no postseason whatsoever.

In 2021 Potter was successful on 92% of her serves, 95% of her sets, 80% of attacks and received serve 96% of the time.

The Gopher Conference 1st Team All-Conference selections:

Kate Trump       Junior          Bethlehem Academy
Reese Bauman  Junior         Hayfield
Tessa Erlandson Junior        Kenyon-Wanamingo
Isabel Deleon     Senior        Medford
Hallie Schultz     Soph.          New Richland-Hartland-Ellendale-Geneva
Alex Heuss         Senior        Waterville-Elysian-Morristown

2nd Team All-Conference

Ellie Cohen        Senior         Bethlehem Academy
Leah Berg          Senior         Kenyon-Wanamingo
McKenna Chick  Senior        Hayfield
Clara Kniefel       Senior        Medford
Sophie Stork      Senior         NRHEG
Melany Ehlert     Senior         United South Central
Riley Sammon    Senior        W-E-M

3rd Teams All-Conference

Reagan Kangas  Junior        Bethlehem Academy
Clair Adams        Senior        Janesville-Waldorf-Pemberton
Josi Quam           Junior        Kenyon-Wanamingo
Morgan Schendel  Senior     Maple River
Julia Niles            Senior       Medford
Anna Olson          Junior       Randolph
Claire Bohlen       Soph.        W-E-M

Honorable Mention All-Conference

Lindsay Hanson   Junior       Bethlehem Academy
Abbie Hefling        Junior       Blooming Prairie
Haeven Skjervem  Junior      Hayfield
Sydney Gahlon     Senior       J-W-P
Stella Rechtzigel   Senior       Kenyon-Wanamingo
Annalivia Blair       Senior       Maple River
Mackenzie Kellen  Senior      Medford
Erin Jacobson      Junior        NRHEG
Paige Ford           Junior        Randolph
Cameron Vermilyea Junior    Triton
Kyllah Curry          Soph.        United South Central
Josie Volkmann    Soph.        W-E-M

Sportsmanship Award Recipients were a member of the varsity roster during the season or at the end of the regular season but did not have to be on the postseason roster.  They exemplified good sportsmanship qualities.

Sportsmanship Award Winners

Jennifer Robert     Senior       Bethlehem Academy
Madi Lea              Junior        Blooming Prairie
Bella Lubbert       Senior        Hayfield
Alexa Cords         Senior        J-W-P
Arin Kyllo             Senior        Kenyon-Wanamingo
Maya Doyen        Senior        Maple River
Hannah Schull     Senior        Medford
Rhys Martin         Senior         NRHEG
Mackenzie Farrington  Junior  Randolph
Keara Ross         Senior          Triton
Hannah Meyer    Senior          United South Central
Grace Petersen   Senior          W-E-M

Amazing information here.

LOOK: 30 fascinating facts about sleep in the animal kingdom

Do you have one of these?

KEEP LOOKING: See What 50 of America's Most 'Pupular' Dog Breeds Look Like as Puppies





More From KDHL Radio