The Medford Tigers and Randolph Rockets received votes in the latest football rankings from the Minnesota Associated Press.  Goodhue stays at the #4 spot in Class 1A and Blooming Praire went up three spots to #5 this week.  United South Central is #8 in Class 1A, Rushford Peterson is #6 and Randolph received a couple votes while playing a nine-man schedule.

The top teams in most of the classes stayed the same with Spring Grove on top of Nine-Man, Minneota in Class 1A, Caledonia in Class 2A, Pierz in Class 3A, Holy Angels Academy still atop Class 4A, Owatonna in 5A.  Lakeville North is the new top dog in Class 6A.  Winona is still #3 in  Class 4A, Mankato West jumps from 5th to 3rd in Class 5A.

Stewartville enters the top 10 at #9 in Class 3A.  Rochester Lourdes is #2 and Jordan #3.

The complete rankings are listed below.

Class 1A

  1. Minneota
  2. BOLD
  3. Mahnomen
  4. Goodhue
  5. Blooming Prairie
  6. Rushford-Peterson
  7. Ottertail Central
  8. United South Central
  9. Ada-Borup-NCW
  10. Murray County Central

Others receiving votes:  Red Lake County, Ortonville, Randolph.

Class 2A

  1. Caledonia
  2. Minneapolis North
  3. Pipestone
  4. Barnesville
  5. Maple River
  6. Breckenridge
  7. Chatfield
  8. Redwood Valley
  9. St. Charles
  10. Royalton

Others receiving votes Morris Area-Chokio-Alberta, Masabi East, Hawley ,Maple Lake, Paynesville, Medford.

Class 3A

  1. Pierz
  2. Rochester Lourdes
  3. Jordan
  4. Breck
  5. Jackson County Central
  6. Mora
  7. Perham
  8. East Grand Forks
  9. Stewartville
  10. Greenway-Nashwauk-Keewatin

Others receiving votes: St. Peter, Fairmont, Annandale, Spectrum, Pequot Lakes, New London-Spicer.

Class 4A

  1. Holy Angels Academy
  2. Cloquet
  3. Winona
  4. Hutchinson
  5. Detroit Lakes
  6. SMB-Wolfpack
  7. Marshall
  8. Dassel-Cokato
  9. Hermantown
  10. Mound-Westonka

Others receiving votes:  Benilde-St. Margarets, Becker

Class 5A

  1. Owatonna
  2. Elk River
  3. Mankato West 
  4. Mahtomedi
  5. St. Thomas Academy
  6. Robbinsdale Cooper
  7. Sauk Rapids-Rice
  8. Tartan
  9. Andover
  10. Waconia

Others Receiving votes:  Coon Rapids, St. Cloud Tech, Cambridge-Isanti, Chaska, Hastings.

Class 6A

  1. Lakeville North
  2. Eden Prairie
  3. Blaine
  4. Wayzata
  5. Minnetonka
  6. Maple Grove
  7. Prior Lake
  8. Cretin=Derham Hall
  9. East Ridge of Woodbury
  10. Woodbury

Others receiving votes: Edina, Eastview of Apple Valley, Champlin Park, Roseville, St. Michael-Albertville


  1. Spring Grove
  2. Stephen-Argyle
  3. Verndale
  4. Cromwell
  5. Houston
  6. Cook County
  7. Russell-Tyler-Ruthton
  8. Goodridge Grygla-Gatzke
  9. Mountain Lake Area
  10. Wheaton-Herman-Norcross

Others receiving votes:  Nevis, South Ridge, NCEOUH, Grand Meadow and Hancock.

Football helmet and ball
Yuriy Chaban


More From KDHL Radio