The 88th Minnesota State FFA Convention wrapped up Tuesday at the University of Minnesota-St. Paul campus. A number of FFA members from local chapters received recognition. Emily Pliscott from the Kenyon-Wanamingo FFA was elected Minnesota FFA Vice President. Sam Moenning from Triton received the Star in Production Placement. There were also a number of Proficiency Awards:

  • Agricultural Mechanics Fabrication and Design: Michael Kanne from Medford FFA
  • Equine Science Placement: Jackilyn Thayer from Triton FFA
  • Forage Production: Matthew Krieger from Kenyon-Wanamingo
  • Poultry Production: Holly Larson from Medford FFA
  • Swine Production Placement: Madeline Patterson from Kenyon-Wanamingo FFA

The Minnesota FFA Alumni Association recognized seven inductees to the Minnesota FFA Hall of Fame. You will likely recognize a number of them including: Paul Aarsvold, adviser at the Plainview-Elgin-Millville FFA; Dave Frederickson, Commissioner of Agriculture; Jurgen Peters, retired FFA adviser; Doug Peterson, retired Minnesota Farmers Union President; and Al Withers, retired Minnesota Ag in the Classroom.

Did you notice I did not say these FFA members won awards at the State FFA Convention? They did not get lucky and "win" anything. They earned these awards!

More From KDHL Radio