County voting delegates at the 99th Minnesota Farm Bureau Annual Meeting re-elected Kevin Paap to another two year term to serve as President of the Minnesota Farm Bureau Federation. Kevin and Julie Paap own and operate a fourth generation family farm in Blue Earth County raising corn and soybeans. The Minnesota Farm Bureau is the largest general farm organization in Minnesota with more than 30,000 members. The Farm Bureau has members in 78 county and regional Farm Bureau units.

The annual meeting is also a time to recognize special award recipients. Fellow Farm Broadcaster Mike Hergert with the Red River Farm Network received the Distinguished Service Award. Also receiving the Distinguished Service Award Senator Rod Skoe along with Dick Boniface and Juanita Reed Boniface. The Distinguished Service Award is the most prestigious award given by the Minnesota Farm Bureau.

The Minnesota Farm Bureau also presented awards in other areas. The Ag Communicator of the Year was presented to Jim Bartels of KNUJ in Brown County. The FFA Advisor of the Year was presented to Seena Glessing who teaches at Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted in Wright County. Finally the Post Secondary Agricultural Educator of the Year award was given to Bruce White of South Central College in Mankato.

All award winners will receive an all expense paid trip to the American Farm Bureau National Convention in January. This year the American farm Bureau Convention will be held in Nashville Tennessee.

More From KDHL Radio