The Kenyon-Wanamingo Knight volleyball team swept the Pine Island Panthers in the Castle Tuesday night to earn a Co-Championship of the Hiawatha Valley League with Stewartville.

The Knight wins were 25-17, 25-16 and 25-13.

The first set quite honestly was anything but pretty.

Pine Island jumped out to a 10-5 lead largely due to error after error by the Knights.

My unofficial tally had the Knights with 9 hitting errors and 10 total errors in the set.

The Panthers had 9 errors including three in the net calls.

Fittingly on Senior Night, seniors Maddie McCauley, Sydney Way and Corynne Dahl had three ace serves in the first set.

Seniors Brynn Gillard and Hannah Fischer contributed to the victory also with Fischer collecting the final points of the second and third set.

Stewartville swept Zumbrota-Mazeppa in Cougar Country giving the Tigers and Knights 10-1 records in the H-V-L.

Other H-V-L scores were Hayfield 3 Cannon Falls 0, Byron 3  Goodhue 2, Kasson-Mantorville 3  Lake City 1.

Kenyon-Wanamingo Five Seniors in Middle of Volleyball Team Poster. Photo by Gordy Kosfeld
Kenyon-Wanamingo Five Seniors in Middle of Volleyball Team Poster. Photo by Gordy Kosfeld


Northfield rolled over Albert Lea in Raider Country with a 25-9, 25-5, 25-7 sweep giving the Raiders the Big Nine Conference championship.  Northfield went undefeated in the conference.

Other Big Nine scores were Rochester Mayo 3  Faribault 2.  Scores of 26-24 Faribault, 29-27 Mayo, 25-16 Faribault, 25-22 Mayo and 15-12 Mayo.

Century 3  Mankato East 0, Owatonna 3  Mankato West 2, Red Wing 3  Winona 0, Rochester John Marshall 3  Austin 0.


In other area volleyball, Waterville-Elysian-Morristown bested United South Central 25-5, 25-16 and 25-11.

Medford 3  Blooming Prairie 0

Maple River 3  New Richland-Hartland-Ellendale-Geneva in the Gopher Conference.


In the Minnesota River Conference  Belle Plaine 3  LeSeuer-Henderson 1

Mayer Lutheran 3  Sibley East  0

Jordan 3  Tri-City United  0


In the South Suburban Conference:  Lakeville North 3  Apple Valley 0

Lakeville South 3  Rosemount 0, Prior Lake 3  Burnsville  0

Eagan 3  Shakopee 0.





More From KDHL Radio