The Gopher Conference Volleyball Player of the Year is Waterville-Elysian-Morristown senior Delaney Donahue.  The Conference coaches voted on the All-Conference performers and other award winners which were announced today.

Donahue was one of three seniors on the Gopher Conference Champion Buccaneers and played all around.  The other seniors were Trista Hering and student manager Megan Schmitz.  Waterville-Elysian-Morristown went on to win the Section 2A Championship and advanced all the way to the title match.  They were defeated by Minneota last Saturday.

In the Semifinal match the Bucs faced fellow Gopher Conference member Medford and swept them in three competitive sets.  Medford went on to win the third place match against the Fosston Greyhounds.

That means the Gopher Conference got the state runner-up (WEM) and third place (Medford) trophies and individual medals.

Donahue was named to the Class A State All-Tournament Team and was named a member of the 2019 Minnesota Volleyball Coaches Association Class A All-State first team.  She was Gopher All-Conference in 2016, 2017 and 2019.  Her 2019 statistics are impressive with a hitting percentage for the season of .316 while accumulating 316 kills, 330 digs, 56 ace serves.

The Buccaneers captured their third and second consecutive Gopher Conference title by going undefeated in conference competition.  Medford finished second with their only loss to WEM.

In addition to Donahue the remaining members of the Gopher Conference 1st team All-Conference squad are:

  • Toryn Richards         Junior             WEM
  • Kylie Pittman            Junior             WEM
  • Maryx Young            Junior             Hayfield
  • Jenna Jacobsen      Junior              Hayfield
  • Kiley Nihart              Senior             Medford
  • Emma Kniefel          Senior             Medford

2nd Team All-Conference:

  • Sophie Stork            Sophomore      NRHEG
  • Lexi Boyd                 Senior              Bethlehem Academy
  • Julia Worke              Senior              Blooming Prairie
  • Morgan Langeslag   Senior              Medford
  • Kinsey Cronin          Junior               Medford
  • Cela Carney            Senior               Hayfield
  • Ellie Ready              Junior                WEM

Honorable Mention All-Conference

  • Haley Lang              Senior                Bethlehem Academy
  • Trista Hering            Senior                WEM
  • Izzy Reuvers            Senior                Medford
  • Rachel Pack            Senior                 Hayfield
  • Grace Tufte             Junior                  NRHEG
  • Jose Schumann      Junior                  United South Central
  • Halie MacGregor     Junior                  Maple River
  • Micalyn Trihus         Junior                  Blooming Prairie

Sportsmanship Recipients were a member of the varsity roster during the season or at the end of the regular season, they did not have to be on the postseason roster.  They were chosen for exemplifying good sportsmanship qualities.

  • Grace Ashley          Senior                  Bethlehem Academy
  • Autumn Taylor         Junior                  WEM
  • Clara Kniefel           Sophomore          Medford
  • Lexi Roberts           Senior                   United South Central
  • Madi Lubbert          Senior                   Hayfield
  • Ally Bruegger          Senior                   Maple River
  • Megan Oswald       Junior                    Blooming Prairie

More From KDHL Radio