The first Minnesota Basketball News (MBN) boys basketball rankings of 2018 did not see a bunch of movement despite some top teams going down to defeat last week.

The Big Nine has four teams ranked and three in the top ten of their class.

Austin is now #2, Mankato East #7 and Northfield #11 in Class 3A and Rochester John Marshall #9 in Class 4A.

In Class 2A St. Charles knocked off Caledonia Thursday 79-75 but the rankings, which came out Friday evidently did not take that into account because their record listed for Caledonia did not include a loss.

In Class 3A Mankato East used a tremendous team effort to defeat Matthew Hurt and the Rochester John Marshall Rockets 75-63 Thursday and the MBN didn't list the loss on John Marshall's record either.

Hurt finished with 30 points and 12 rebounds but Mankato East had five players in double figures and used their athleticism to attack the rack and get to the free throw line.

The Cougars were 25 of 34 from the charity stripe and had five players in double figures.

Mankato East also had a rebounding advantage of 40-24.

Mankato East is ranked #7 in Class 3A and followed up the win over John Marshall with a 65-55 victory over #6 Orono Saturday.

In another game involving state ranked teams Austin traveled to Northfield and won 76-57.

There are three Hiawatha Valley League teams in the MBN state rankings in Class 2A #7 Lake City, #17 Rochester Lourdes (fell to Pine Island 52-51 Friday) and #20 Byron.

There are three South Suburban teams in the top 20 in Class 4A.

#3 Lakeville North, #5 Apple Valley and #19 Farmington.

Below are the rankings according to the Minnesota Basketball News.

Class 4A

  1. Cretin-Derham Hall
  2. Hopkins
  3. Lakeville North
  4. Eden Prairie
  5. Apple Valley
  6. Park Center
  7. Edina
  8. Chaska
  9. Rochester John Marshall
  10. Wayzata
  11. North St. Paul
  12. Woodbury
  13. East Ridge
  14. Chanhassen
  15. Osseo
  16. Forest Lake
  17. Tartan
  18. Cambridge-Isanti
  19. Farmington
  20. Minnetonka

Class 3A

  1. Minneapolis DeLaSalle
  2. Austin
  3. St. Thomas Academy
  4. Columbia Heights
  5. Marshall
  6. Orono
  7. Mankato East
  8. Willmar
  9. Delano
  10. Mahtomedi
  11. Northfield
  12. Waseca
  13. Fridley
  14. Robbinsdale Cooper
  15. St. Paul Johnson
  16. Benilde-St. Margaret's
  17. Sauk Rapids-Rice
  18. St. Croix Lutheran
  19. Bemidji
  20. Waconia

Class 2A

  1. Minnehaha Academy
  2. Minneapolis North
  3. Caledonia
  4. St. Cloud Cathedral
  5. Brooklyn Center
  6. Perham
  7. Lake City
  8. Holy Family Catholic
  9. Annandale
  10. Esko
  11. Pequot Lakes
  12. Jordan
  13. St. Charles
  14. Eden Valley-Watkins
  15. Breckenridge
  16. Melrose
  17. Rochester Lourdes
  18. Proctor
  19. Virginia
  20. Byron

Class 1A

  1. North Woods
  2. Springfield
  3. Nevis
  4. Cass Lake-Bena
  5. Cleveland
  6. Mayer Lutheran
  7. Russell-Tyler-Ruthton
  8. Hinckley-Finlayson
  9. Cedar Mountain Comfrey
  10. Norman County East/Ulen-Hitterdal
  11. Mountain Lake
  12. Red Rock Central
  13. Spring Grove
  14. Sacred Heart
  15. Minnesota Valley Lutheran
  16. Ada-Borup
  17. Southwest MN Christian
  18. Minneota
  19. Wrenshall
  20. Hancock
state tournament
2017 State Tournament KDHL Coverage.
Roy Koenig photo

More From KDHL Radio