The latest Minnesota Basketball News state boys basketball rankings have five Big Nine Conference teams among the top twenty in the top two classes in the state.  There are Three South Suburban Conference schools listed in Class 4A.  Two Hiawatha Valley League schools and three Three Rivers Conference teams are also mentioned.

The top rated teams in Classes 1A, 2A and 3A have been the same all year with a revolving door in Class 4A.  The latest Minnesota Basketball News rankings have Cretin-Derham Hall on top in Class 4A, DeLaSalle in Class 3A, Minnehaha Academy in Class 2A and unbeaten North Woods in 1A.

There are no Section 1A schools in the top 20, so the door could be open for a new team to emerge through the playoffs after back to back Goodhue trips to state.

Don't count the Wildcats out either.  I think they may have found their defense in a loss to Faribault Bethlehem Academy last week.  The Cardinals have as much talent as any team in the section but after Rushford-Peterson's win over #9 Class 2A St. Charles last week it appears Tom Vix has his Trojans peaking at the right time.

The Section One Class 2A playoffs are going to be incredible with five teams out of the section ranked in the state.  #3 Caledonia travels to #12 Byron Monday night.

Also rated are #8 Lake City, #9 St. Charles, #20 Plainview-Elgin-Millville.

Complete listings are below;

Class 4A

  1. Cretin-Derham Hall
  2. Hopkins
  3. Lakeville North
  4. Eden Prairie
  5. Apple Valley
  6. Osseo
  7. Park Center
  8. Edina
  9. Rochester John Marshall
  10. North St. Paul
  11. Tartan
  12. Chaska
  13. Woodbury
  14. East Ridge
  15. Wayzata
  16. Forest Lake
  17. Owatonna
  18. Prior Lake
  19. Maple Grove
  20. St. Michael-Albertville

Class 3A

  1. DeLaSalle
  2. Austin
  3. Columbia Heights
  4. Mankato East
  5. Marshall
  6. Orono
  7. Willmar
  8. Mahtomedi
  9. Northfield
  10. Sauk Rapids-Rice
  11. St. Thomas Academy
  12. Waseca
  13. Fridley
  14. Delano
  15. Bemidji
  16. St. Paul Johnson
  17. St. Croix Lutheran
  18. Monticello
  19. Minneapolis Roosevelt
  20. Benilde-St. Margaret's

Class 2A

  1. Minnehaha Academy
  2. Minneapolis North
  3. Caledonia
  4. St. Cloud Cathedral
  5. Perham
  6. Brooklyn Center
  7. Holy Family Catholic
  8. Lake City
  9. St. Charles
  10. Annandale
  11. Esko
  12. Byron
  13. Breckendridge
  14. Melrose
  15. Virginia
  16. New Richland-Hartland-Ellendale-Geneva
  17. Jordan
  18. Maple Lake
  19. Eden Valley-Watkins
  20. Plainview-Elgin-Millville

Class 1A

  1. North Woods
  2. Springfield
  3. Russell-Tyler-Ruthton
  4. Nevis
  5. Mayer Lutheran
  6. Cass Lake-Bena
  7. Cleveland
  8. Hinckley-Finlayson
  9. Southwest MN Christian
  10. Sacred Heart
  11. Norman County East/Ulen-Hitterdal
  12. Minneota
  13. Westbrook-Walnut Grove
  14. Hancock
  15. Wrenshall
  16. Parkers Prairie
  17. BOLD
  18. New Ulm Cathedral
  19. Cedar Mountain-Comfrey
  20. Ortonville
Goodhue Head Coach Matt Halverson
Goodhue Head Coach Matt Halverson

More From KDHL Radio