The final Minnesota Basketball News (MBBN) state rankings in boys high school basketball were released Friday.  I was shocked to see Rushford-Peterson was again left out of the top 20 in Class A even though they have won more than 20 games (22-7) and beat #4 Class 2A Caledonia.  The Trojans are playing in the Section 1A title game against Spring Grove this week.  Rushford-Peterson defeated Spring Grove also and the Lions are ranked #14 in the MBBN ratings.

In Class A Springfield is #1 and plays in a Subsection title game Monday night against unranked St. Clair.  It is the South Subsection of Section 2A and the game is at Gustavus Adolphus College in St. Peter.  The North Subsection title game features #8 rated BOLD and #5 ranked Mayer Lutheran at the same location.  The North contest is the early game.

The Big Nine Conference finished the season with five teams in the state rankings.  Three in Class AAA and two in Class AA.  Still alive in the playoffs are Austin, Northfield, Rochester John Marshall and Mankato East.  There could be three Big Nine teams at state if John Marshall can upset Lakeville North in the Section 1AAAA final and Mankato East can defeat Waseca in the 2AAA final Thursday in St. Peter.

There will definitely be a Big Nine team at state because the Austin Packers and Northfield Raiders have a rematch in the Section 1AAA title game Friday night in Rochester.

Complete MBBN rankings are below:

Class A

  1. Springfield
  2. North Woods
  3. Russell-Tyler-Ruthton
  4. Cass Lake-Bena
  5. Mayer Lutheran
  6. Westbrook-Walnut Grove
  7. Hancock
  8. BOLD
  9. Minneota
  10. Parkers Prairie
  11. Wrenshall
  12. Hinckley-Finlayson
  13. Norman County East-Ulen-Hitterdal
  14. Spring Grove
  15. Nevis
  16. Sacred Heart
  17. Ada-Borup
  18. Dawson-Boyd
  19. New Ulm Cathedral
  20. Fosston

Class AA

  1. Minneapolis North
  2. Minnehaha Academy
  3. Perham
  4. Caledonia
  5. Brooklyn Center
  6. Holy Family Catholic
  7. Melrose
  8. Eden Valley-Watkins
  9. Annandale
  10. Lake City
  11. St. Charles
  12. Breck
  13. Esko
  14. St. Cloud Cathedral
  15. Virginia
  16. Byron
  17. Maple Lake
  18. Jordan
  19. New Richland-Hartland-Ellendale-Geneva
  20. Kimball

Class AAA

  1. DeLaSalle
  2. Austin
  3. Mankato East
  4. Orono
  5. Waseca
  6. Marshall
  7. Columbia Heights
  8. St. Thomas Academy
  9. Willmar
  10. Robbinsdale Cooper
  11. Mahtomedi
  12. Northfield
  13. Fergus Falls
  14. Sauk Rapids-Rice
  15. Fridley
  16. Totino-Grace
  17. Minneapolis Roosevelt
  18. St. Paul Johnson
  19. Delano
  20. Monticello

Class AAAA

  1. Cretin-Derham Hall
  2. Hopkins
  3. Apple Valley
  4. Lakeville North
  5. East Ridge
  6. Rochester John Marshall
  7. Park Center
  8. Champlin Park
  9. Eden Prairie
  10. North St. Paul
  11. Tartan
  12. Osseo
  13. Edina
  14. Wayzata
  15. Prior Lake
  16. Owatonna
  17. Chaska
  18. Woodbury
  19. Maple Grove
  20. Blaine
state tournament
2017 State Tournament KDHL Coverage.
Roy Koenig photo

More From KDHL Radio