The Faribault Falcon girls hockey team fell 4-2 Saturday to the New Ulm Eagles at the Faribault Ice Arena.  New Ulm is a perennial State Tournament entrant out of their section.  The Eagles outshot the Falcons 35-13 and held Faribault to one shot on goal in the first period.  Falcon junior goalie Mikayla Bohner had 31 saves.

New Ulm took a 1-0 lead 10:39 into the game with an unassisted even strength goal by Madeline Gag.  The Falcons went on the power play :39 into the game but couldn't cash in.  They would go 0 for 2 on the power play while New Ulm was 1 for 1.  New Ulm extended their lead 5:36 into the second period on a Ashtyn Wiltscheck power play goal assisted by Elle Cooper and McKenna Strong.

Faribault answered 13.22 into the second period when Olivia Williamson scored assisted by Haley Lang and Bergen Williamson.  The Eagles outshot the Falcons 14-6 in the second period and had 21 shots to Faribault's 7 through two periods.  Score after two was 2-1.

1:01 into the third period Ellie Knutson scored an unassisted even strength goal to tie the game.  It wasn't tied for long.  At 3:28 the Eagles took the lead for good when Elle Cooper scored assisted by McKenna Strong.  Gag got some insurance at 1:08 later on a goal assisted by Wiltschek.

The Falcons have dropped three of their last four games.  Two of them at home.  In their seven victories Faribault has allowed 1 power play goal in 23 attempts and in their losses opponents have 3 power play goals in 9 attempts.  The Falcons currently have a penalty kill of 87.5 percent and a power play of 20.7 percent.  Faribault does have a higher power play in their losses (2/8 25%) .

Here are other Saturday scores in girls hockey from the area:

  • Simley 3  Owatonna 1   (Simley is #17 rated Class  A team)
  • Warroad 4  Northfield 1  (Warroad is #1 rated Class A team)
  • Farmington 5  Lakeville South 2
  • Eagan 2  Prior Lake 1    (Eagan is #13 Class AA team)
  • Mankato East 3  Red Wing 2 (Mankato East is #20 Class A team)
  • Burnsville 5  Rosemount 2   (Burnsville is #15 Class AA team)
  • Osseo/Park Center 6  Rochester John Marshall 0
  • Rochester Century  3  Rochester Mayo 2
  • Lakeville North 2  Eastview 0
  • Dodge County 4  Hopkins/St. Louis Park 1
  • Rochester Lourdes 2  Benilde-St. Margaret's 2  (Lourdes is #6 Class A team)
  • New Prague 4  Albert Lea 1
  • Shakopee 2   Apple Valley 1   (Shakopee is #16 Class  AA team)
  • Minnesota River 5  Windom 1
  • Mankato West 5  Austin 2
  • Luverne 6  Waseca  0
Faribault Ice Arena - photo by Gordy Kosfeld
Faribault Ice Arena - photo by Gordy Kosfeld


More From KDHL Radio