The Big Nine Conference has the top two ranked teams in Class 3A in Minnesota Fastpitch, according to the latest Minnesota Fastpitch Coaches Association rankings.

Defending state champion Mankato West and the Faribault Falcons are rated No. 1 and No. 2 and could see each other in a tournament in Mankato this weekend. The two are scheduled to play next Thursday in the regular season final game that could determine the Big Nine Conference champion and the top seed in the Section 2 Class 3A playoffs.

Last year's state runner-up Winona is rated ninth and Mankato East received votes, along with Stewartville.

In Class A, Faribault Bethlehem Academy received votes and Randolph dropped from No. 1 to No. 7 while Edgerton/Southwest Minnesota Christian took the top spot. Blooming Prairie is eighth and Hayfield received votes but did not crack the top 10.

In Class 2A, Maple Lake is still on top. Chatfield is third, Rochester Lourdes fifth, Winona Cotter seventh and Zumbrota-Mazeppa 10th. Pine Island dropped to receiving votes after losing to Z-M this week and Norwood-Young America also received votes.

In Class 4A, Chanhassen is the top-rated team in Minnesota, Prior Lake is third, Farmington fourth, New Prague eighth and Eagan received votes.

The complete polls are listed below:

Class 1A

  1. Edgerton-Southwest Minnesota Christian
  2. New York Mills
  3. Sleepy Eye St. Mary's
  4. Maranatha Christian Academy
  5. Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg
  6. New Ulm Cathedral
  7. Randolph
  8. Blooming Prairie
  9. Sebeka
  10. Nashwauk-Keewatin

Others receiving votes: Red Lake Falls, Carlton, Badger-Greenbush-Middle River, Brandon-Evansville, Tracy-Milory-Balaton, Mayer Lutheran, Bethlehem Academy, Sacred Heart, Mankato Loyola, Hayfield, West Lutheran

Class 2A

  1. Maple Lake
  2. Pipestone Area
  3. Chatfield
  4. Park Rapids Area
  5. Rochester Lourdes
  6. Albany
  7. Winona Cotter
  8. Annandale
  9. Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton
  10. Zumbrota-Mazeppa

Others receiving votes: Esko, Pine Island, Norwood-Young America, Minnewaska Area, Fairmont, Moose Lake/Willow River

Class 3A

  1. Mankato West
  2. Faribault
  3. Hermantown
  4. Chisago Lakes and Rocori
  5. tied above
  6. Totino-Grace
  7. Academy of Holy Angels
  8. Mound Westonka
  9. Becker tied with Winona

Others receiving votes: Detroit Lakes, Stewartville, Mankato East, Visitation, Alexandria Area, Benilde-St. Margaret's, St. Paul Como Park

Class 4A

  1. Chanhassen
  2. Anoka
  3. Prior Lake
  4. Farmington
  5. Forest Lake
  6. Park
  7. Woodbury
  8. New Prague
  9. Blaine
  10. Stillwater Area

Others receiving votes: Eagan, North St. Paul, Bloomington Jefferson, Hopkins

Mankato West Hoists Class AAA 2016 Championship Trophy
Mankato West Hoists Class AAA 2016 Championship Trophy





More From KDHL Radio