The Edina Hornets outdistanced Minnetonka by over 100 points to repeat as the Minnesota Class AA Girls Swimming and Diving Champions.

The Hornets scored 382.5 and Minnetonka 281.5 points.

Rosemount was the highest finishing South Suburban Conference school 4th with 132 points.

Lakeville South was 14th and Lakeville North 16th with 71 and 60 points respectively.

Lakeville South senior Ryenne Hathaway swam in automatic All-American time of 23.20 to win the 50 Freestyle.  Lakeville North freshman Katie Pattee was 7th in the finals for All-State honors.

Hathaway also swam the first leg of the 200 Yard Freestyle Relay and was joined by junior Josphine Sommers, freshman Skyler Leverenz and junior Peyton Wright to place 4th in a very fast field.

The winners of the relay from Minnetonka swam an  Automatic All-American time and Edina and Rosemount joined them.  The next four finishers Lakeville South, Prior Lake-Jordan, Eden Prairie and Eagan all had All-American Consideration times.

Lakeville North was 10th and Farmington 12th.

Lakeville North earned All-State honors with an 8th place finish in the 400 Yard Freestyle Relay.  Senior Elizabeth Thull jumped in the pool first, followed by freshman Katie Pattee, junior Ashley Van Dyne and junior Caroline Anderson.

Rosemount was third and Edina won the race with an Automatic All-American time of 3:24.72.

Rosemount junior Anna Wenman was 7th in the 200 Yard IM for All-State honors.

Teammate sophomore Molly Urkiel finished 10th, Lakeville North junior Ashley Van Dyne was 13th and Eastview junior Emily Heymans 15th in the event.

Rosemount sophomore Cassandra Hutchins was 10th and Lakeville South freshman Skyler Leverentz 13th in the 500 Yard Freestyle.

Rosemount senior Macy Klein was 11th and Lakeville South junior Josphine Sommers 13th in the 100 Yard Freestyle.

Leverentz and Thull were 12th and 13th in the 200 Yard Freestyle.

The Lakeville North 200 Yard Medley Relay was 16th and was comprised of Van Dyne, senior Sophia Jenson, senior Emily Kaiser and Anderson.

Van Dyne was 15th in the 100 Yard Backstroke.

Rosemount sophomore Molly Urkiel finished 11th in the 100 Yard Breaststroke.

Sophomore Megan Phillip of Edina won the diving with 476.05 points.  Senior Isabelle Lichen of Rochester Mayo was 8th, junior Allison An of Owatonna 10th and senior Brittany Alexander of Lakeville South 12th in the competition.

Ryenne Hathaway of Lakeville South. Class 2A State 50 Yard Freestyle Champion. Photo by Gordy Kosfeld November 18, 2017
Ryenne Hathaway of Lakeville South. Class 2A State 50 Yard Freestyle Champion. Photo by Gordy Kosfeld November 18, 2017


More From KDHL Radio