Minnesota Basketball Coaches Association has announced some awards related to the recently concluded high school boys basketball season.

State Academic Team Champions are:

Class A    Hancock               Head Coach    Cory Bedel
Class AA Pine Island            Head Coach    Jim McNamara
Class AAA Delano                Head Coach    Terry Techam
Class AAAA Rosemount      Head Coach     Lance Walsten (former Faribault HC)

Section Academic Team Champions:

Class A

Section 1:    Goodhue            Head Coach   Matt Halverson
Section 2:    Springfield          Head Coach   Lance Larson
Section 3:    Lac qui Parle Valley   Head Coach  Barry Besonen
Section 4:    Avail Academy    Head Coach   Corey Borchardt
Section 5:    Cromwell-Wright   Head Coach   Bill Pocernich
Section 6:    Hancock             Head Coach    Cory Bedel
Section 7:    North Woods       Head Coach    Will Kleppe
Section 8:   Stephen-Argyle   Head Coach     Nevin Lubarski

Class AA

Section1:  Pine Island             Head Coach    Jim McNamara
Section 2:  Minnesota Valley Lutheran   Head Coach   Craig Morgan
Section 3:  Eden Valley-Watkins   Head Coach   Jake Anderson
Section 4:  Saint Agnes       Head Coach      Christopher Pierce
Section 5:  Rockford            Head Coach      Michael Tauber
Section 6:  Albany               Head Coach      Cory Schlagel
Section 7:  Eveleth-Gilbert   Head Coach     Adam Roen
Section 8:  Perham             Head Coach     Dave Cresap

Class AAA

Section 1:    Byron              Head Coach      Kyle Finney
Section 2:    New Prague    Head Coach     Dan Perterka
Section 3:    Simley             Head Coach     Isaiah Wallfred
Section 4:     Hill-Murray     Head Coach      Scott Wadie
Section 5:    Chisago Lakes  Head Coach   Michale Holmquist
Section 6:    Delano             Head Coach     Terry Techam
Section 7:    North Branch   Head Coach     Todd Dufault
Section 8:   Detroit Lakes    Head Coach     Brett Maass

Class AAAA

Section 1     Farmington       Head Coach    Tharen Johnson
Section 2     Chanhassen     Head Coach    Corey Christopherson
Section 3     Rosemount       Head Coach    Lance Walsten (former Faribault HC)
Section 4     East Ridge        Head Coach    Josh Peltier
Section 5     Mounds View    Head Coach    David Leiser
Section 6     Wayzata           Head Coach     Bryan Schnettler
Section 7     Blaine               Head Coach     Lance Pettis
Section 8     Bemidji             Head Coach     Steven Thompson

State Head Coaches of the Year:

Class A:         Chris Anderson               Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa
Class AA:       Don "Skip" Dolan           Annandale
Class AAA:    Willie Braziel                  Columbia Heights
Class AAAA:   James Ware                 Park Center

Minnesota Basketball Coaches Association 2021-2022 Asasistant Coaches of the Year

Dave Cors              New London-Spicer
Mike Curry              Buffalo
Pat Fitch                 Kasson-Mantorville
Allen Lochner         Spring Grove
Tom Miller              Alexandria Area
Nick Ravn              Eden Prairie
Matt Schumann     Coon Rapids
Troy Sergent          Lakeville South
Steve Tlougan       Shakopee
Pat Webb              Owatonna

Section Coaches of the Year

Class A

Secftion 1:      Chris Pack             Hayfield
Section 2:       Judd Walter          Sleepy Eye-St. Mary's
Section 3:       Daren Gravley     Russell-Tyler-Ruthton
Section 4:      Robbie Whitney    New Life Academy
Section 5:     Scott Kramer          Nevis
Section 6:     Chris Anderson      Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa
Section 7:     Jordan Christianson  Cherry
Section 8:    Destry Sterkel         East Grand Forks

Class AA

Section1:    Jason Herber          Plainview-Elgin-Millville
Section 2:   Rob Decorsey         Glencoe-Silver Lake
Section 3:   Mark Torgerson      Morris Area/Chokio-Alberta
Section 4:   Eric Schuttee          Concordia Academy
Section 5:   Larry McKenzie      Minneapolis North
Section 6:  Curt Grachek          Mora
Section 7:   Rich Spiczka         Pequot Lakes
Section 8:   Dave Cresap         Perham

Class AAA

Section 1:  Nick Pocius           Kasson-Mantorville
Section 2:  Joe Madson          Mankato East
Section 3:  Travis Bledsoe      DeLaSalle
Section 4:  Willie Braziel        Columbia  Heights
Section 5:  Brett Cloutier        Princeton
Section 6:  Andre Phillips       Mound-Westonka
Section 7:  Andy Fenske        Hermantown
Section 8:  Don Ferguson      St. Cloud Tech

Class AAAA

Section 1:  Josh Williams      Owatonna
Section 2:  Jake Dammann   Shakopee
Section 3:  Paul Goetz           Eastview
Section 4:  Greg Burke          White Bear Lake
Section 5:  James Ware        Park Center
Section 6:  Bryan Schnettler  Wayzata
Section 7:  Mike Ogorek        Coon Rapids
Section 8:  Matt Ellingson     Moorhead

Below are the 40 players participating in this Saturday's All-Star Basketball Series.

It's the 40th annual Minnesota High School All-Star Basketball Series.

Games will be played at East Ridge High School in Woodbury on Saturday, April 9th . Two games will be played at 1:30 in the Fieldhouse followed by games at 2:40 and 4:00 as determined by first game results.

The 2022 MBCA McDonald Award will be presented in a 3:45 between-games ceremony.  This used to be called Mr. Basketball.

Tickets online will be $8 for adults and $5 for Senior citizens and students. Admission at the door on the day of the event will be $10 for adults and $5 for students and Senior citizens (5 & under are free).

Purchase tickets here.

Maroon Team

Coach Jeff Van Hee of Madelia, Larry McKenzie Minneapolis North

De'Meiko Anderson    Minneapolis North
Alonzo Dodd              South St. Paul
Ja'Sean  Glover         Madelia
Brady Helgren           Edina
Donnavin Hinsz         Columbia Heights
Logan Kinsey            Spring Lake Park
Ahjany Lee                Totino Grace
BJ Omot                    Mankato East 
Sam Rensch             Hutchinson
Willie Wilson             Minneapolis North

Gold Team

Coach Brad King of Caledonia, Bob Burmester of Caledonia

Jamal Ambrose        Eastview
Donavhan Cain        Cretin-Derham Hall
Leo Torbor                Park Center
Nick Katona             Shakopee
Eli King                    Caledonia
Thomas Menk         Lewiston-Altura
Benard Omooria       Osseo
Kenji Scales             Eastview
Demarion Watson    Totino Grace
Jaden Wollmuth       Richfield

Blue Team

Coach Willie Braziel of Columbia Heights, Dedrick Jenkins of Columbia Heights

Kendall Blue       East Ridge
Terrence Brown   Columbia Heights
Mjua Burton        Columbia Heights
Tre Hollomon      Cretin-Derham Hall
Kyle Hrncir          Farmington
Mason Lund        Sartell
Peyton Newbern  Robbinsdale Armstrong
Brady Nicholson   Chaska
Elvis Nnaji            Hopkins
Brayden Williams   Owatonna

Green Team

Coach Ahmil Jihad of Minneapolis Edison, Jama Bulhan Mpls Edison

Braeden Carrington   Park Center
Mekhi Collins             Mankato West
Mitchel Jaskowiak     Glencoe-Silver Lake
Jackson Loge            Morris Area/Chokio-Alberta
Ty Morrison               Deer River
Pharrel Payne           Park-Cottage Grove
Cody Pennebaker     Park Center
Caleb Siwek              Rosemount
Liban Tushar             Minneapolis Edison
Dylan Wheeler          Mounds View

This is interesting stuff if you are a March Madness junkie you could know many of these.

LOOK: Biggest underdog victories in March Madness

Every spring, legions of sports fans turn their attention to college basketball when March Madness takes the national spotlight. Using aggregated Associated Press data, BestOdds has come up with 10 of the biggest—and most unlikely—underdog wins in March Madness history.

More From KDHL Radio