The National Severe Storms forecast center has issued a Tornado Watch in effect until 1am for the following counties:

Anoka, Blue Earth, Brown, Carver, Chippewa, Dakota, Faribault, Freeborn, Goodhue, Hennepin, Kandiyohi,  Lac Qui Parle, Le Sueur,  Martin, Mcleod, Meeker, Nicollet,          Pope, Ramsey, Redwood, Renville, Rice, Scott, Sherburne, Sibley, Stearns,              Steele, Stevens, Swift, Waseca, Washington, Watonwan, Wright and
Yellow Medicine.

Large hail, damaging winds, frequent lightning and tornadoes are possible in these areas. If threatening weather conditions are sighted, be prepared to move to a place of safety.

Check back for future statements and possible warnings.

Center For Severe Weather Research Scientists Search For Tornadoes To Study
Getty Images

More From KDHL Radio