The old adage is, "the early bird gets the worm." I don't know if that's truly the case, but Section 1 has concluded all their baseball tournaments.

In Class A, Wabasha-Kellogg is the section title holder after a 3-2 win over Hayfield in Austin on Tuesday night.

In Class 2A, the Rochester Lourdes Eagles won two games over the Lacrescent Langers to advance to the state tournament. The Eagles rolled 14-1 in five innings in the first game and captured a thrilling 5-4 victory in eight innings in the second contest.

The Class 3A, Section 1 champions are the Red Wing Wingers after a 6-4 win over two-time defending section champs Northfield.

The Class 4A title holders are the Lakeville North Panthers after a 5-4 win over New Prague in Dundas on Tuesday night.

Most of the other section champions will be crowned Thursday night.

The state baseball tournament opens Thursday at various fields across the state.

  • Class A State is held in Chaska and Mini-Met Jordan.
  • Class 2A State is at Dick Putz and Joe Faber Field in St. Cloud.
  • Class 3A  State is at Siebert Field University of Minnesota Campus Minneapolis.
  • Class 4A State is at CHS Field in St. Paul, home of the St. Paul Saints.
CHS Field St. Paul- photo by Gordy Kosfeld
CHS Field St. Paul- photo by Gordy Kosfeld



More From KDHL Radio