The Owatonna High School Athletic Department along with the Huskies varsity coaching coaches have announced the finalists for the senior and junior Athletes of the Year at OHS. They represent a state championship team and a third-place state meet squad. Multiple nominees have placed highly at individual state competitions. At least five of the six senior finalists will play college sports, three of them as Division I athletes.

The senior female finalists for Athlete of the Year are Ali An, Sydney Kretlow and Maylynn Prokopec. An qualified three times for the state diving meet in the fall. An and Kretlow were part of the Huskies historic run of multiple third place finishes at the state gymnastics meet. Kretlow is a top runner for the OHS track team and played soccer in the fall. Prokopec has been one of the top scorers the last couple of seasons for the Huskies girls hockey team.

Kretlow will run track for the University of Minnesota. Prokopec will play hockey at Bethel University.

The male finalists for the senior Athlete of the Year Award are Jake Miller, Cade King and Jason Williamson. Miller and Williamson were teammates on the two-time state championship Owatonna High School football team. Williamson is the Huskies all-time leading rusher and second in state history in rushing yards. Williamson has been attending Minnesota since January and is on the football team. He suffered a knee injury during spring practice. Miller is a top fielder and hitter for the Huskies baseball squad.

King is a multi-time state wrestling finalist and won the state title with an unbeaten record as a junior. He will wrestle for Division I South Dakota State University.

Kretlow and Williamson won recognition as the junior Athletes of the Year in 2018.

The junior finalists for female Athlete of the Year are Asia Buryska, Kaia Elstad and Sara Anderson. Buryska played goalie for the Huskies hockey team. She and Elstad were soccer teammates. Anderson participates in tennis, basketball and track and field.

The male Athlete of the Year finalists are Keenon Young, Ethan Walter and Zach Wiese. Young is one of the top hurdlers in the state. Walter and Wiese both played football and are teammates in baseball. Wiese also played goalie for the Huskies and participated in post-season elite competitions.

The award recipients will be announced Wednesday, May 29 at 5:30 pm at the OHS auditorium. The academic and scholarship awards program will follow at 6:30 pm that night.


More From KDHL Radio