The Minnesota Volleyball Coaches Association first volleyball poll of the regular season was a near mirror of the preseason poll.

Defending State Champions Eagan, Maple Lake and Mayer Lutheran are still atop their respective classes.

Thursday night the Class A #4 rated Faribault Bethlehem Academy Cardinals hope to notch their first win of the season against #9 Class A ranked Waterville-Elysian-Morristown.

The Cardinals are still trying to overcome an injury to a key starter and the Buccaneers are talented by young.

Roy Koenig will call the match on POWER 96 Radio 95.9 FM and

You can also listen by downloading the FREE Radio Pup app on your favorite mobile device.

On KDHL I'll be in the Bombers Hangar as Cannon Falls hosts Kenyon-Wanamingo.

The Knights placed third at state last year while being ranked number one for much of the season.

Kenyon-Wanamingo lost some key players from that team but swept Waterville-Elysian-Morristown in their opener on the road.

The Knights are in the also receiving votes category in Class 2A.

Cannon Falls started their season with wins over Big Nine Conference schools Rochester John Marshall and Red Wing.

The Bombers are coached by Melissa Huseth and the Knights by Jen Nerison.

They are sisters and are competitors which is one of the reasons why this match is fun to cover.

Coverage begins 7:00 p.m. if everything is on time Thursday night on KDHL Radio, 920 AM, and people may download the FREE Radio Pup app and listen on their favorite mobile device.

Full rankings are listed below for each class as provided by the Minnesota Volleyball Coaches Association:

Class A

  1. Mayer Lutheran
  2. Hayfield
  3. Caledonia
  4. Faribault Bethlehem Academy
  5. Tracy-Milroy-Balaton
  6. Mabel-Canton
  7. Wadena-Deer Creek
  8. Rush City
  9. Waterville-Elysian Morristown
  10. Underwood

Also receiving votes: Minneota, Onamia, Badger-Greenbush-Middle River, Carlton, Sacred Heart, Windom.

Class 2A

  1. Maple Lake
  2. Stewartville
  3. Kasson-Mantorville
  4. Southwest Christian
  5. Marshall
  6. North Branch
  7. Concordia
  8. Roseau
  9. Sauk Centre
  10. Totino-Grace

Also receiving votes: Rocori, Hill-Murray, Park Rapids, Morris/Chokio-Alberta, Annandale, Jordan, Kenyon-Wanamingo, Holy Angels, Jackson County Central, Perham.

Class 3A

  1. Eagan
  2. Lakeville North
  3. Champlin Park
  4. Prior Lake
  5. Hopkins
  6. East Ridge
  7. Stillwater
  8. Shakopee
  9. Minnetonka
  10. Moorhead

Also receiving votes:  Eden Prairie, Elk River, Lakeville South, Blaine, Rosemount, Waconia.

Minnesota Volleyball Coaches Polls. picture by Gordy Kosfeld
Minnesota Volleyball Coaches Polls. picture by Gordy Kosfeld

More From KDHL Radio