Following semifinals games Thursday through Saturday at US Bank Stadium in Minneapolis the Prep Bowl Championship games are determined for December 2 & 3, 2022.

Spring Grove advanced to the final game of 9-Man football in the state with a 27-6 win over Fertile-Beltrami.

Mountain Iron-Buhl downed Wheaton Herman Norcross 36-15 indoors with no wind or cold to contend with.

Saturday, December 3, 2022 at 10:00 a.m. the two will square off for the State 9-Man title.

The Spring Grove Lions won back to back titles in 2017 and 2018.  Mountain Iron-Buhl is seeking their first title.

Section 1 has dominated in 9-Man in recent years.  Grand Meadow was champion every year from 2013 through 2016.  Leroy-Ostrander won easily a year ago over Fertile-Beltrami 58-8.

In Class A perennial powerhouse Minneota edged Fillmore Central 28-27 in a great high school footbll game at US Bank Stadium Saturday.

The Vikings led 21-7 at the half and enjoyed a 28-14 lead going into the 4th quarter before the Falcons came flying back with two scores in the final quarter.  They missed a two point coversion with 3:15 to go that would have given them the lead.

Minneota won three state title back to back to back between 1986 and 1988, then was 2009 Class A State Champs before winning in 2014, 2015 and 2017.  They lost by a score to Mayer Lutheran last season.

The Vikings will play a Springfield Tigers team that won 54-30 in the Semifinals against Deer River.  The game will be Friday, December 2, 2022 at 10:00 a.m.

The Tigers were the 2005 state champions after a 21-14 win over Goodhue in the title game.  It has been the only state football title appearance for Springfield until this season.

Defending State Champion Chatfield is back in the Class AA title game after a 27-12 win over Eden Valley-Watkins Friday.  The Gophers were Class C State Champions 1994 through 1996, Class AA Champions 2013 and last year.

Barnesville ran by Jackson County Central 41-12 to advance to the Prep Bowl showdown with the defending state champions on Friday, December 2, 2022 at 1:00 p.m.

The Trojans ran for 5 scores in their victory Friday at US Bank Stadium.

Barnesville has never won a state title in football.  They placed second in 1978 after losing to New Richland-Hartland 48-13.  Also were second in 2010 and 2018 following losses to New Ulm Cathedral and Caledonia in the Class AA title game.

New London-Spicer edged Watertown-Mayer 33-28 Saturday.  Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton defeated Fairmont 16-7 in a more defensive dominated game.

NL-S and D-G-F will battle for the Class AAA State Football Championship on Saturday, December 3, 2022 at 1:00 p.m.

New London-Spicer has not won but finished second in Class AAA in 2013 and 2014.  Glencoe-Silver Lake was State Champions in 2000, 2003, 2006, 2007, 2008 and finished second in 2009,  They were runnerup to Plainview-Elgin-Millville in 2002.

Silver Lake won a 9-Man title in 1987 and were second in 1984.

Hutchinson is back to defend their title in Class AAAA after getting by Zimmerman 42-28 Friday.  The Tigers will play Simley after the Spartans thrilling 17-16 win over Rocori Thursday.

The AAAA Title game is scheduled for Friday, December 2, 2022 at 4:00 p.m.

The Tigers won Class A in 1983, Class AAAA in 1998 they lost to Owatonna in the title game 21-20.  Hutchinson was state champion in 2012, 2013, and runnerup in 2003.

Simley has finished second in football once, 2014 they lost in the AAAA title game 42-19 to Mankato West.

Class AAAAA defending Champions Mankato West got by Rogers 14-10 in a very physical game at US Bank Stadium Friday.

The Scarlets were 5A Champions in 2014 and 4A Champs in 2002, 2008 after a 33-14 win over Northfield and 1999.

Elk River started the Power Triple-T offense in Minnesota high school football after winning the 2016 Class 5A title with it.  The Elks fell in 2017 to Owatonna 63-26.

Elk River advanced to the title game with a 38-21 win over Mahtomedi Friday.

The AAAAA championship is scheduled for 4:00 p.m. Saturday, December 3, 2022.

In the biggest schools Class AAAAAA Maple Grove edged Lakeville South 14-7 while Rosemount got by Eden Prairie 14-10.

Maple Grove lost to Lakeville South 13-7 in last year's title game.  It has been their only other trip to the Prep Bowl.

Rosemount was Class AA Champion in 1981 and has been a runnerup in 2010 Class 5A and 2013 in Class 6A.

Check out our NEW Minnesota High School Sports Scoreboard! You can quickly and easily check mn sports scores sorted by school, sport, conference, or football district.

For the best experience, download our Free App to check Minnesota State High School Sports Scores on the Go📲

mn sports scores


LOOK: The most extreme temperatures in the history of every state

Stacker consulted 2021 data from the NOAA's State Climate Extremes Committee (SCEC) to illustrate the hottest and coldest temperatures ever recorded in each state. Each slide also reveals the all-time highest 24-hour precipitation record and all-time highest 24-hour snowfall.

Keep reading to find out individual state records in alphabetical order.

More From KDHL Radio