The Minnesota Associated Press High School Football Polls entering week six were released today.  Throughout the season the defending state champions were at the top of nearly all classes.  The exception is in 9-man football.

9-Man football still has Mountain Lake Area on top with Leroy-Ostrander #2 and receiving first place votes.  Southland is #7.

Blooming Prairie moved up a notch to #2 after rolling over previously unbeaten Randolph last week.  Randolph still received votes but did not crack the top 10.  United South Central is #5 after a convincing win last week over Mayer Lutheran.  The Crusaders are also in the others receiving votes category.

Class 2A still has Caledonia entrenched at the top spot with Lewiston-Altura climbing to #5.  St. Charles and Triton received votes.

Class 3A Pierz is on top followed by Jackson County Central. Three teams are tied in the #4 spot with Stewartville among those.  Cannon Falls is still #7.  Waseca still received votes.

Class 4A SMB Wolfpack still are number one with Hutchinson #2 and receiving first place votes.  Winona is back to #4 without losing a game.

Class 5A Owatonna is entrenched in the top spot and in fact the MaxPreps website has them #1 in their overall poll including teams from all classes in the state.  Mankato West is #8 and Rochester Century #10.

Class 6A defending State Champion Lakeville North had just one more first place vote than #2 Wayzata this week.  Lakeville South went up to #5.  Rosemount is #10 and Prior Lake received votes.

Here are the complete polls according to the Minnesota Associated Press:

Class 6A- (31 teams) 

1. Lakeville North
2. Wayzata
3. St. Michael-Albertville
4. Eden Prairie
5. Lakeville South
6. Totino-Grace
7. Champlin Park
8. Cretin-Derham Hall
8. Mounds View
Others Receiving Votes:  Prior Lake, Woodbury

Class 5A- (47 teams)

1. Owatonna
2. Elk River
3. St. Thomas Academy
4. Bemidji
5. Robbinsdale Armstrong
6. Tartan
7. Alexandria
8. Mankato West
9. Chaska
10.Rochester Century
Others Receiving Votes:  Minneapolis Southwest, Coon Rapids, Robbinsdale Cooper

Class 4A- (46 teams)

1. SMB Wolfpack
2. Hutchinson
3. Benilde-St. Margaret's
4. Winona
5. Detroit Lakes
6. Fridley
7. Becker
8. Marshall
8. Simley
10. Rocori
Others Receiving Votes:  St. Anthony, Mound-Westonka, Hermantown, Holy Angels Academy

Class 3A- (56 teams)

1. Pierz
2. Jackson County Central
3. Albany
4. Annandale
4. Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton
7. Cannon Falls
8. Mora
9. Fairmont
10. Perham
Others Receiving Votes:  Dassel-Cokato, New London-Spicer, Waseca

Class 2A- (55 teams)

1. Caledonia
2. Barnesville
3. Minnepolis North
4. Paynesville
5. Lewiston-Altura
6. Concordia Academy-Roseville
7. Moose Lake/Willow River
8. Redwood Valley
9. Blue Earth Area
10. Pipestone
Others Receiving Votes:  Staples-Motley, St. Agnes, Maple Lake, West Central/Ashby, St. Charles, Triton, Eden Valley-Watkins

Class 1A- (62 teams)

2. Blooming Prairie
3. Minneota
4. Springfield
5. United South Central
6. Ada-Borup
7. Upsala/Swanville
8. Mahnomen-Waubun
9. Underwood
10. Braham
Others Receiving Votes:  Dawson-Boyd, Mayer Lutheran, Polk County West, Randolph, Martin County West

Class 9-Man- (61 teams)

1. Mountain Lake Area
2. Leroy-Ostrander
3. Brandon-Evansville
4. Renville County West
5. Hancock
6. Stephen-Argyle
7. Southland
8. Hills-Beaver Creek
9. Ogilvie
10. Verndale
Others Receiving Votes:  North Central, Win-E-Mac




More From KDHL Radio