For the third time in the past four seasons the Minneota Vikings can call themselves state champions after defeating the Wabasso Rabbits 28-13 in the Class 1A state title game.

Minneota won three Class C state titles in a row from 1986-1988 and three Class 2A championships in 2009, 2014 and 2015.

The Vikings ground out the win amassing 338 yards rushing led by senior Isaac Hennen with 291 rushing yards on 34 carries and three scores.

It was 13-13 early in the fourth quarter of the game and 7-7 at the half.

Minneota had 372 total yards on offense and Wabasso 228.

The Vikings converted 3 of 10 third down conversions while the Rabbits hopped to 4 of 13 third downs.

Wabasso quarterback Nick Altermatt was 7 of 18 for 36 yards and a interception and Minneota quarterback Alex Pohlen was 4 of 13 for 34 yards and a pick.

The Rabbits defeated Faribault Bethlehem Academy in the quarterfinals en route to the title tilt and were ranked number one going into the game.

Minneota was rated #6 in the final Minnesota Football Coaches Association poll and were also unbeaten going into the game.

Bethlehem Academy Football Team. Photo by Gordy Kosfeld
Bethlehem Academy Football Team. Photo by Gordy Kosfeld

More From KDHL Radio