It couldn't be a more exciting end to both the Class B and Class C Minnesota Amateur Baseball Tournaments on Labor Day.

In Class C Scott Marquardt hit a walk-off two run homer in the bottom of the ninth to give the Kimball Express their first State title 6-4 over Lake Henry.

The Lake Henry Lakers were the team that ousted Faribault and New Prague from the tournament and they out hit the Express but it's the runs that matter.

Lake Henry also had 3 errors in the game and Kimball played error free ball.

Marquardt had two hits and four RBI in the contest and Adam Beyer also homered for Kimball and collected 2 hits and 2 RBI.

It was a back and forth affair with Kimball taking the first lead, Lake Henry tying and taking a lead later and the teams tied at 4 going into the 9th inning in Green Isle.

In Hamburg the Chanhassen Reds only had to win one game to become State Champions but Miesville repeated as title holders with 5-3 and 9-5 wins.

Lake CIty native and former St. Olaf Ole Brian Sprout collected two hits in the first game and three hits in the second contest.

Nate Hammes had three hits in each game for the Miesville Mudhens and Austin Murr collected two doubles in the first game.

Miesville had 12 hits in the first game and 15 in the second while Chanhassen tallied 5 hits in the first game and 10 hits in the second.

Miesville jumped right out of the gate in the second and deciding game with all their runs scored in the first five innings.

They took a 3-0 lead in the first inning withe Deryk Marks pitching all nine innings for the win.

Marks had 5 strikeouts and no walks.

In the first game Steve Maher might have been effectively wild with 9 walks to go with 9 strikeouts.  Chris Olean pitched the ninth for the save.

Next year's State Tournament will be hosted by New Prague and Shakopee With Jordan being the other site.


Hamburg Field Sign. Photo by Gordy Kosfeld
Hamburg Field Sign. Photo by Gordy Kosfeld

More From KDHL Radio