The 2022 Minnesota State High School Wrestling Tournament wrapped up last night in Saint Paul, and now that the action is over you might be wondering how area schools and wrestlers fared at the tournament. Here is a weight-by-weight by class (there are three classes A, AA, AAA and new this year was a women's division) look at how Southern Minnesota wrestlers fared at the tournament.

Class A

106 - Braxton Lange (Caledonia Houston) individual entrant, Javier Berg (Chatfield) individual entrant, Luis Lopez (Medford) individual entrant

113 - Ryan Bortz (Goodhue) 2nd place, Carson Petry (WEM/JWP) 6th place, Gage Bartels (Chatfield) individual entrant

120 - Lucas Bortz (Goodhue) 3rd place, Chris Cushman (Wabasha-Kellogg) individual entrant, Bo Zwiener (Westfield) individual entrant

126 - Tommy Elwood (Medford) 5th place, Brandon Ross (Caledonia-Houston) 6th place, Bolton Thesing (Dover-Eyota) individual entrant

132 - Owen Denstad (Caledonia-Houston) 3rd place, Grady Eaton (Dover-Eyota) individual entrant, Nikolas Petsinger (New Richland-Hartland-Ellendale-Geneva) individual entrant

138 - Charley Elwood (Medford) Champion, Maddox O`Reilly (Goodhue) 5th place, Cohen Wiste (GMLOS) individual entrant, Cade Christianson (Westfield) individual entrant

145 - Tucker Ginther (Caledonia-Houston) 3rd place, Brodie Kellen (Dover-Eyota) 6th place

152 - Gavin Gust (Dover-Eyota) Champion, Jett Thoreson (Saint Charles) 4th place, Garron Hoffman (Medford) individual entrant

160 - Tate Hermes (Medford) 2nd place, Treyton Thesing (Dover-Eyota) individual entrant, Makae O`Reilly (Goodhue) individual entrant

170 - Kail Schott (Chatfield) individual entrant, Jaedin Johnson (Kenyon-Wanamingo) individual entrant, Tyler Archer (Westfield) individual entrant

182 - Grady Schott (Chatfield) Champion, Tytan Small (Saint Charles) 5th place, Dylan Heiderscheidt (Medford) individual entrant

195 - Ralph Roesler (New Richland-Hartland-Ellendale-Geneva) 2nd place, Ayden Goetzinger (Caledonia-Houston) individual entrant, Tyler Mix (Dover-Eyota) individual entrant

220 - Ben Hagen (New Richland-Hartland-Ellendale-Geneva) individual entrant, Cody Lohman (Goodhue) individual entrant

285 - Makota Misgen (New Richland-Hartland-Ellendale-Geneva) 2nd place, Christian Luthe (GMLOS) individual entrant, Caleb Kurtti (Goodhue) individual entrant, Keegan Kuball (Waterville-Elysian-Morristown/Janesville-Waldorf-Pemberton) individual entrant

Class AA

106 - Michael Olson (Albert Lea Area) Champion, Lawson Eller (New Prague) 2nd place, Aiden Graner (Plainview-Elgin-Millville) individual entrant

113 - Logan Davis (Albert Lea Area) 4th place, Carson Petry (WEM/JWP) 6th place, Gavin Peterson (Cannon Falls) individual entrant,

120 - Jack Krier (Zumbrota-Mazeppa) 6th place, Calvin Singewald (Cannon Falls) individual entrant, Bo Zwiener (Westfield) individual entrant

126 - Nick Korman (Albert Lea Area) 6th place, Lucas Schiell (Zumbrota-Mazeppa) individual entrant

132 - Joseph Kennedy (Kasson-Mantorville) individual entrant, Jacob Thompson (Byron) individual entrant

138 - Koy Buesgens (New Prague) Champion, Cameron Davis (Albert Lea Area) 2nd place, Luke Swanson (Kasson-Mantorville) individual entrant, Cade Christianson (Westfield) individual entrant

145 - Maxwell Petersen (Byron) Champion, Colton Bornholdt (New Prague) 2nd place, Kaleb Lochner (Zumbrota-Mazeppa) individual entrant

152 - Logan Vaughan (Kasson-Mantorville) 2nd place, Evan Farley (New Prague) 4th place, Caleb Whipps (Tri-City United) individual entrant, Joey Schreier (La Crescent-Hokah) individual entrant

160 - Jonathan Harvey (Lake City) 5th place, Dominic Mann (Kasson-Mantorville) individual entrant,

170 - Cole Glazier (Kasson-Mantorville) 2nd place, Caden O`Malley (Tri-City United) 3rd place, William Wharton (Byron) individual entrant, Tyler Archer (Westfield) individual entrant

182 - Joey Novak (New Prague) 2nd place, Kail Wynia (Kasson-Mantorville) 3rd place, Gabe Tupper (Zumbrota-Mazeppa) 5th place

195 - Bennett Berge (Kasson-Mantorville) Champion, Martin Prieto (Plainview-Elgin-Millville) 5th place, Evan Anderson (New Prague) individual entrant

220 - Christian Sackett (Stewartville) individual entrant, Carter Geerts (Byron) individual entrant

285 - Max Balow (Lake City) 2nd place

Class AAA

106 - Caden Staab (Northfield) individual entrant, Juan Cobarruvias (Rochester Mayo) individual entrant

113 - Keith Harner (Northfield) individual entrant, Lane Karsten (Owatonna) individual entrant

120 - JT Hausen (Faribault) 3rd place, Logan Williams (Northfield) individual entrant

126 - Bo Bokman (Faribault) individual entrant, Lathan Wilson (Austin) individual entrant

132 - Jore Volk (Lakeville North) Champion, Cael Robb (Owatonna) 3rd place, Jackson Barron (Northfield) individual entrant

138 - Jake Messner (Northfield) 2nd place, Calder Sheehan (Rochester Mayo) individual entrant

145 - Zach Hanson (Lakeville North) Champion, Isaac Yetzer (Faribault) Individual entrant, Kanin Hable (Owatonna) individual entrant

152 - Aiden Tobin (Faribault) individual entrant, Kley Krause (Lakeville North) individual entrant, Jayce Barron (Northfield) individual entrant

160 - Landen Johnson (Owatonna) Champion, Peyton Hermann (Lakeville South) 3rd place, Owen Murphy (Northfield) individual entrant

170 - Darrin Kuyper (Northfield) individual entrant, Jacob Reinardy (Owatonna) individual entrant

182 - Ryan Kuyper (Northfield) individual entrant, Dylan Peper (Rochester Mayo) individual entrant

195 - Nickolas Mikula (Northfield) individual entrant, Andrew Nirk (Owatonna) individual entrant, Antonio Menard (Lakeville North) individual entrant

220 - Gabriel Shatskikh (Faribault) individual entrant, Byron Callies (Rochester Century) individual entrant

285 - Mason Pagel (Northfield) individual entrant, Ethan Peper (Rochester Mayo) individual entrant

Women's division

100 - Lauren Elsmore (Pine Island) 2nd place

107 - Isabelle Townley (Owatonna) 3rd place

114 - Rian Grunwald (Owatonna) Champion, Destiney Lofton (New Prague) 4th place

120 - Annabelle Petsinger (New Richland-Hartland-Ellendale-Geneva) 3rd place

126 - No Southern MN Entrants

132 - No Southern MN Entrants

138 - Diann Smith (GMLOS) 2nd place

145 - Lainey Houts (Northfield) 4th place

152 - Makenna Belling (Tri-City United) 3rd place

165 - Ella Pagel (Northfield) Champion, Noelle Barclay (St. Charles) 4th place

185 - Miya Elbing (Rochester Century) 4th place

235 - No Southern MN Entrants


Kasson-Mantorville in class AA took 2nd place, and Northfield in class AAA finished in 5th place.

12 Minnesota Small Towns Known for Big Things

There are tons of small towns around Minnesota that shape our state for a variety of reasons. And some of these small towns are known for pretty big things despite their population size.

More From KDHL Radio