The Minnesota Basketball News final rankings feature a number of teams in the KDHL listening area.  Monday night the #5 rated Waterville-Elysian-Morristown Buccaneers will face #7 Springfield in the South 2A Subsection title game at Gustavus-Adolphus College in St. Peter, Minnesota.

Springfield is loaded with great athletes in a section that's filled with talented teams.  Whoever comes out of Section 2 will be a very formidable opponent at the state tournament.  The Buccaneers have just two losses.  Springfield has fallen 3 times.  I saw Waterville-Elysian-Morristown Head Coach Jeff Wagner in Rochester Saturday watching Section 1 action and he said they have to bring their A game to win.

Class 2A top rated Caledonia scored 100 points against upset minded Dover-Eyota Saturday and #12 rated Stewartville held off Pine Island to set up the Section 1 Class 2A title game Thursday.  #12 rated Hayfield will play #10 rated Blooming Prairie in the Section 1 Class 1A title tilt at 6:00 p.m. followed by the 2A championship.

Austin and Albert Lea hook up for the third time this season and the Tigers have to be pretty confident going into the Class 3A Section 1 title game.  They played in the regular season final and lost by a lone point to the Packers 41-40.  In Austin January 21 the score was 72-71 Austin winning.  The Section 1 Class 3A title game is 8:00 p.m. Friday in Rochester.

The Section 1 Class 4A Championship features top seed #16 rated Lakeville South and #19 rated Rochester Mayo.  The Spartans and Cougars play at 6:00 p.m. Friday in the Rochester Mayo Civic Center Arena.

The Section 2 Class 3A title game features Mankato East and Marshall.  The top two seeds square off 7:00 p.m. at Gustavus Adolphus College in St. Peter Thursday night.

The Section 2 Class 4A championship is Friday night in Eden Prairie.  The top seed Eagles host #3 seed Shakopee who defeated Chaska on their way to the title showdown.  Eden Prairie is undefeated after rolling over Prior Lake in the semifinals 99-74.

Complete rankings are below:  Highlighted teams are still alive.

Class 4A

1. Eden Prairie
2. Eastview
3. Cretin-Derham Hall
4. Shakopee
5. Hopkins
6. Chaska
7. Maple Grove
8. Park Center
9. Spring Lake Park
10.East Ridge
11.Prior Lake
12.Robbinsdale Armstrong
13.North St. Paul
15.Robbinsdale Cooper
16.Lakeville South
17.Champlin Park
19.Rochester Mayo
20.Lakeville North

Class 3A

1. Minnehaha Academy
2. Mankato East
3. DeLaSalle
4. Totino-Grace
5. Marshall
6. Waconia
7. Delano
8. Richfield
9. Princeton
13.St. Peter
14.Holy Angels
15. Mound Westonka
17.South St. Paul
18.St. Cloud Apollo
19.Sartell-St. Stephen
20. Alexandria

Class 2A

1. Caledonia
2. Waseca
3. St. Croix Prep
4. Lake City
5. Minneapolis North
6. Perham
7. Minnesota Valley Lutheran
8. East Grand Forks
9. Osakis
10.Eden Valley-Watkins
11.Fergus Falls
13.Pine City
16.Moose Lake-Willow River
18.Minnewaska Area

Class 1A

2. Henning
3. Ada-Borup
4. Southwest MN Christian
5. Waterville-Elysian-Morristown
6. New Ulm Cathedral
7. Springfield
8. West Central Area
9. Mountain Lake-Comfrey
10.Blooming Prairie
14.Cass Lake-Bena
17.Central MN Christian
19.Parkers Prairie
20.North Woods

KDHL Radio logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app


More From KDHL Radio