The Faribault Public Schools Activities Office announced today the recognition of six student-athletes with annual athletic awards and Bruce Smith Scholarship money.

In a News Release on the Faribault High School website the honorees were announced.  Below is the announcement.

"Faribault High School senior student-athletes are eligible for the Male Athlete of the Year, Female Athlete of the Year, Bruce Smith Award, and AAUW Sportswoman of the Year Award. The athletic awards are a tradition at Faribault High School that dates back to 1968 when the first Bruce Smith Sportsman of the Year Award was given to Bob Dettmer."

"Since then, the Faribault Public Schools have added the AAUW Sportswoman of the Year Award in 1975 and the Male and Female Athlete of the Year Awards in 1992. Each award included a $250 scholarship sponsored by the Faribault Booster Club."

"Female Athlete of the Year nominees were Kylie Petricka, Gabrielle Yetzer, Bennett Wolff, Alexis Bottke, and Maria Pierce. Gabbie Yetzer was named the 2021 Female Athlete of the Year."

"Male Athlete of the Year nominees were Andrew Chou, Alex Leet, Tanner Longshore, John Palmer, and Gael Ramirez. John Palmer was named 2021 Male Athlete of the Year."

"The Bruce Smith and AAUW Sportswoman of the Year awards are nominated by the coaching staff.  Final selections are made by an independent committee of people. Alongside an athlete's athletic accomplishments, the committee focuses heavily on academic achievement, community involvement, character, leadership, and other volunteer opportunities."

"The AAUW Sportswoman of the Year nominees were Maria Pierce, Ruby Gernandt, McKenzie Gehrke, Kylie Petricka, and Alli Velander. Mary Osborne, leader and member of the local AAUW chapter, presented Kylie Petricka with the 2021 AAUW Sportswoman of the Year Award."

"The Bruce Smith Sportsman of the Year nominees were Cael Casteel, Andrew Chou, Alex Leet, and Tanner Longshore. Faribault native Bruce Smith, the University of Minnesota's only Heisman Trophy Winner, was known for his outstanding athletic accomplishments as well as his fine sportsmanship and his commitment to his community. The 2021 Bruce Smith Award goes to Alex Leet."

"Finally, the Bruce Smith Scholarship was given in memory and honor of Bruce Smith. The scholarship recognizes student-athletes who exhibit athletic team leadership and outstanding academic excellence. Two $1,500 scholarships were distributed to one male and one female student-athlete."

"2021 Bruce Smith Scholarship money was awarded to Gabbie Yetzer and Nick Ehlers."

"Congratulations to all of our Faribault Falcons senior student-athletes for thriving in exceptionally adverse conditions. We are proud of all of your accomplishments and are looking forward to the many successes you have in your lives after high school."

KDHL/POWER 96 would also like to congratulate the award recipients.  Most of them have been guests on the Faribault Coaches Show at Bashers/FairBowl Center each Saturday morning during the school year.  The show is also made possible by G&H Properties Faribault and Cashwise Foods and Pharmacy of Owatonna.

Interesting information graduates may or may not be able to use.

READ ON: See the States Where People Live the Longest

Stacker used data from the 2020 County Health Rankings to rank every state's average life expectancy from lowest to highest. The 2020 County Health Rankings values were calculated using mortality counts from the 2016-2018 National Center for Health Statistics. The U.S. Census 2019 American Community Survey and America's Health Rankings Senior Report 2019 data were also used to provide demographics on the senior population of each state and the state's rank on senior health care, respectively.

Read on to learn the average life expectancy in each state.

More From KDHL Radio