The Faribault Falcons girls hockey team defeated Austin 9-3 Saturday at the Austin Invitational Girls Hockey Tournament and were undefeated at the event.  They were awarded the championship trophy.  Falcons junior Olivia Williamson scored five goals and Rylie Starkson two goals in the victory.  Faribault had five goals and Austin 3 goals in the first period.

Officially, according to Google anyway, there is no term in hockey for when someone scores four or five goals in a game.  It's simply a four or five goal game.  Six is a double hat trick.  Five goals in soccer (when does that happen) is a glut.  The Falcons outshot the Packers 45-39 for the game.  Austin was 1 for 4 and Faribault 0 for 2 on the power play.

27 seconds into the game Faribault scored.  Starkson assisted by Ellie Knutson.  Starkson scored at 4:00 minute mark assisted by Kayli Burkhartzmeyer.  After a Austin goal Abigail Goodwin found the net assisted by Burkhartmeyer and Regan Bulger.  Austin scored to make it 4-3 but with 5 seconds to go in the first period Ashley Rost connected assisted by Burkhartzmeyer and Knutson to the 5-3 first period lead.

Junior goalie Mikayla Bohner shut Austin out the rest of the way to record her 13th win of the season.  Williamson had a pure hat trick in the second period scoring all of Faribault's goals in the period.  Two unassisted and a shorthanded goal with 50 seconds to go in the second period assisted by Haley Lang.  It was Williamson's 5th shorthanded goal this season.  She has one goal on the power play.

Williamson tallied her fifth goal 15:53 of third period.  It was unassisted.  It was her 30th goal of the season and puts her back in the state lead for goals.  Her 46 points are also tops in the state right now.

The Falcons have a 13-4 record.  They have scored 92 goals and given up 36 in 17 games.

The Falcons boys team lost to Becker-Big Lake 3-2 Saturday to finish second at the LaCrescent Tournament.

Austin Tournament Champions 2018. Faribault Falcons. Photo provided by Todd Rost
Austin Tournament Champions 2018. Faribault Falcons. Photo provided by Todd Rost

More From KDHL Radio