The Faribault Falcons girls hockey team was in the state rankings for one week this season and ran into a pair of losses that knocked them out.  This time they hope to stay for good and maybe climb up from number twenty.  The latest Let's Play Hockey rankings were released Wednesday, December 19.

On top in Class A girls is Warroad followed by Breck.  Rounding out the top five are Proctor/Hermantown, Mound Westonka and South St. Paul.  Rochester Lourdes (in the same section with Faribault and the team that ousted them from the playoffs last season) is #6.

Class A boys still has Mankato East and Northfield out of the Big Nine in the rankings.  Mankato East defeated Northfield December 6 and it's reflected in the ratings.  The Cougars are #12 and the Raiders #15.  Mankato East lost Tuesday to Albert Lea 4-3 in overtime.   Minnesota River entered the rankings at #20. Minnesota River is a co-op of Tri-City United (Montgomery-Lonsdale and Lecenter), St. Peter, LeSueur-Henderson.  On top is St. Cloud Cathedral followed by Hermantown, Mahtomedi, East Grand Forks and Alexandria rounding out the top 5.

Class AA girls rankings had a couple changes in the top five but #1 and #2 are still the same with Edina and Blake.  Third is Wayzata, then comes Forest Lake and Andover dropped from third to fifth. Eagan is 13th, Burnsville 15th, Lakeville North 19th and Shakopee 20th.

Class AA boys is unchanged through the top six.  Minnetonka is tops followed by Andover, Edina, Duluth East and St. Thomas Academy in the top 5.  Lakeville North is #13, Rosemount #14 and Lakeville South #20.

The complete Let's  Play Hockey rankings are below:

Class A Girls

  1. Warroad
  2. Breck
  3. Proctor/Hermantown
  4. Mound Westonka
  5. South St. Paul
  6. Rochester Lourdes
  7. Thief River Falls
  8. Mahtomedi
  9. Duluth Marshall
  10. East Grand Forks
  11. Alexandria
  12. St. Paul United
  13. Cloquet-Esko-Carlton
  14. Fergus Falls
  15. Hibbing/Chisholm
  16. Delano/Rockford
  17. Hutchinson
  18. Minneapolis
  19. Simley
  20. Faribault

Class AA Girls

  1. Edinia
  2. Blake
  3. Wayzata
  4. Forest Lake
  5. Andover
  6. Maple Grove
  7. Eden Prairie
  8. Grand Rapids/Greenway
  9. Roseau
  10. Brainerd/Little Falls
  11. Hill-Murray
  12. Elk River
  13. Eagan
  14. Minnetonka
  15. Burnsville
  16. North Wright County
  17. Cretin-Derham Hall
  18. Blaine
  19. Lakeville North
  20. Shakopee

Class A Boys

  1. St. Cloud Cathedral
  2. Hermantown
  3. Mahtomedi
  4. East Grand Forks
  5. Alexandria
  6. Thief River Falls
  7. Sartell-St. Stephen
  8. Duluth Denfeld
  9. Greenway
  10. Orono
  11. Warroad
  12. Mankato East
  13. Virginia/Mountain Iron-Buhl
  14. Marshall
  15. Northfield
  16. Monticello
  17. Totino-Grace
  18. Mound Westonka
  19. Chisago Lakes
  20. Minnesota River

Class AA Boys

  1. Minnetonka
  2. Andover
  3. Edina
  4. Duluth East
  5. St. Thomas Academy
  6. Maple Grove
  7. Wayzata
  8. Eden Prairie
  9. White Bear Lake
  10. Hill-Murray
  11. Blaine
  12. Moorhead
  13. Lakeville North
  14. Rosemount
  15. Blake
  16. Stillwater
  17. Cretin-Derham Hall
  18. Benilde- St. Margaret's
  19. Roseau
  20. Lakeville South
Falcon Girls Huddle at Faribault Ice Arena. Photo provided by Todd Rost
Falcon Girls Huddle at Faribault Ice Arena. Photo provided by Todd Rost

More From KDHL Radio