The first Minnesota Fastpitch Coaches Association rankings are out with defending Class 3A Champion Faribault rated #2.  The Falcons are among five Big Nine Conference teams ranked in the top 10 in Class 3A.  Fellow Section 2 and conference opponent Mankato West is rated #1 in the first poll.  Northfield is #5, Winona #6, Mankato East #9.

West, East and Faribault are in the same section with New Ulm in others receiving votes.  Northfield and Winona are in the same section.  Faribault defeated Winona tonight in 11 innings 3-2, has already downed Mankato East and remains undefeated.  Mankato West is also unbeaten and has scored double digit runs in every game they have played.  They defeated Red Wing 11-2 tonight.  Northfield cruised by Rochester Century 7-0.  Owatonna got by Austin 7-4, Mankato East over John Marshall 7-0.

The Falcons have last year's top strikeout pitcher in the state McKayla Armbruster back leading the state in strikeouts again so far this season.  Her battery mate Abby Van Ryn has produced in the cleanup spot this season and calls all the pitches.  The pair were guests on the KFC Faribault Coaches Show last Saturday and have developed quite a trust.  Armbruster very rarely shakes Van Ryn off which has proven to be successful.

In Class A Randolph is #3 and clobbered Alden-Conger/Glenville-Emmons 19-0 tonight.  #10 ranked Hayfield fell to New Richland-Hartland-Ellendale-Geneva 8-6

Class 2A Rochester Lourdes is #3 defeated Kasson-Mantorville 4-2.  #4 Zumbrota-Mazeppa rolled past Kenyon-Wanamingo 14-0.  #5 ranked Chatfield fell to #6 rated Winona Cotter/Hope Lutheran 1-0.

Class 4A has three South Suburban Conference schools in the top 10, two more in others receiving votes.

Class 1A

  1. New York Mills
  2. Sleepy Eye Saint Mary's
  3. Randolph
  4. NCE/UH Titans
  5. New Ulm Cathedral
  6. Badger/Greenbush-Middle River
  7. Kimball Area
  8. Edgerton/SW Mn Christian
  9. Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg
  10. Hayfield

Others receiving votes:  Carlton, Cherry, Pine River-Backus, Cleveland, Waterville-Elysian-Morristown, Wabasso, Sebeka, Brandon-Evansville, Nicollet, Silver Bay.

Class 2A

  1. Maple Lake
  2. Pipestone Area
  3. Rochester Lourdes
  4. Zumbrota-Mazeppa
  5. Chatfield
  6. Park Rapids Area
  7. Winona Cotter/Hope Lutheran
  8. (tie) Esko and Thief River Falls

10.  St. Peter.

Others receiving votes:  Annandale, Norwood-Young America, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton, St. Agnes, Virginia, Proctor, Hawley, Moose Lake/Willow River, Sauk Centre, Jordan, Minnehaha Academy.

Class 3A

  1. Mankato West
  2. Faribault
  3. Hill-Murray
  4. Chisago Lakes
  5. Northfield
  6. Winona
  7. Rocori
  8. Waconia
  9. Mankato East
  10. (tie) North Branch and Benilde-St. Margaret's

Others receiving votes:  Delano, Mahtomedi, Cloquet, New Ulm, Mound-Westonka, Visitation, Bemidji.

Class 4A

  1. Park
  2. Forest Lake
  3. Chanhassen
  4. (tie) Maple Grove and Shakopee

6. Stillwater Area

7. (Tie) Elk River and Centennial

9. Eastview

10. Farmington

Others receiving votes: New Prague, North, Champlin Park, Lakeville North, East Ridge, Rogers, Rosemount, Hopkins, Spring Lake Park, Brainerd, St. Michael-Albertville.