Rice County Sheriff Troy Dunn has issued a news release noting due to the air quallity alert for our area from Noon to 8:00 p.m. today a burn restriction has also been put in place.

In addition to Rice County also included in the burn restrictions are Steele, Dodge, Scott, Dakota, LeSueur, Goodhue, Carver, Wabasha, Waseca, Olmsted, Winona, Freeborn, Mower, Fillmore and Houston Counties.

No open burning is being allowed today until 8:00 p.m. when the air quality alert ends.

Based on the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency website information, they don't anticipate the alert extending into tomorrow according to the Rice County Sheriff's news release.

Rice County Sheriff Troy Dunn
Rice County Sheriff Troy Dunn

More From KDHL Radio